Feel the Blues with all that Jazz
English (United Kingdom)Polish (Poland)
Strona Główna Pop i Różności Peggy Seeger Peggy Seeger – Songs of Love and Politics (The Folkways Years 1955 – 1992)

Peggy Seeger – Songs of Love and Politics (The Folkways Years 1955 – 1992)

Ocena użytkowników: / 0

Peggy Seeger – Songs of Love and Politics (The Folkways Years 1955 – 1992)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

1 	Pretty Saro 	Traditional 	3:41
2 	Lady, What Do You All Day? 	Traditional 	3:42
3 	Broomfield Hill 	Seeger, Traditional 	2:52
4 	The Squire and the Colic 	Traditional 	4:09
5 	Jellon Graeme 	Seeger, Traditional 	5:32
6 	Going to the West 	Traditional 	3:47
7 	Jane Jane 	Traditional 	1:29
8 	When I Was Single 	Traditional 	2:52
9 	The Wedding Dress Song 	Traditional 	2:05
10 	Freight Train 	Cotten 	2:46
11 	Song of Myself 	Seeger 	4:08					play
12 	First Time I Saw Your Face 	MacColl 	2:23
13 	My Son 	Seeger 	4:05
14 	Song for Calum 	Seeger 	2:24
15 	Little Girl Child 	Seeger 	3:36				play
16 	Gonna Be an Engineer 	Seeger 	4:28
17 	Song of Choice 	Seeger 	3:45
18 	Talking Wheelchair Blues 	Small 	3:34
19	Nobody Knew She Was There 	MacColl 	3:00
20 	Thoughts of Time 	Seeger 	3:24
21 	Gardens of Flowers 	Scott, Seeger 	3:28

Neill MacColl 	- Guitar
Irene Scott 	- Vocals
Barbara Seeger 	- Clapping, Handclapping, Vocals
Mike Seeger 	- Mandolin, Vocals
Peggy Seeger 	- Arranger, Autoharp, Banjo, Dulcimer, Guitar, Liner Notes, Vocals
Penny Seeger 	- Clapping, Dulcimer, Handclapping, Vocals.


As a title, The Folkways Years is something of a misnomer for this compilation album because it is a broader collection, in which recordings made by Peggy Seeger for Folkways Records constitute less than half of the 21 selections, along with eight previously unreleased, mostly live recordings made in the 1980s, three tracks licensed from Rounder Records, and a sample from Seeger's upcoming new album. Taken together, the recordings constitute a musical autobiography that traces her interest in traditional folk music: her original, feminist songs such as "Lady, What Do You Do All Day?" and "Gonna Be an Engineer," songs associated with her husband Ewan MacColl, including "First Time Ever I Saw Your Face," which he wrote for her, and songs she wrote for each of her children. In her self-deprecating liner notes, Seeger confesses that for most of her life she has been unable to bear the sound of her recordings, which may explain why she has drawn so little from her large body of work with Folkways. Her thin voice can be an acquired taste, though her talent for songwriting overcomes the limitations of her performing ability. ---William Ruhlmann, allmusic.com


"Fortunately, Peggy Seeger is one of the compilers of this album. The result is that this retrospective is one of the jewels in the S/F [Smithsonian/Folkways] catalog. Eight of the 21 cuts have never been released at all. These, as well as the other previously released songs cover the gamut of styles. As the title succinctly states, these are songs of love and politics . . . Songs of Love and Politics is a wonderful introduction to Peggy Seeger for those of you who are not familiar with her work and a delight to those love her work." ---Don Jacobsen, KVMR Radio

download (mp3 @VBR kbs):

yandex 4shared mega mediafire uloz.to cloudmailru uplea



Zmieniony (Poniedziałek, 22 Maj 2017 16:37)


Zanim ściągniesz jakikolwiek plik, musisz przeczytać i zaakceptować nasz

Jeśli jesteś artystą lub agentem i chciałbyś by Twoja muzyka została usunięta
z naszej strony, proszę napisz do nas na
i usuniemy ją jak najszybciej.

Który gatunek muzyczny najchętniej chciałbyś u nas widzieć?
Teraz na stronie:
  • 204 gości
Łączna liczba odwiedzin :