Feel the Blues with all that Jazz
English (United Kingdom)Polish (Poland)
Strona Główna Jazz Allan Harris Allan Harris - Black Bar Jukebox (2015)

Allan Harris - Black Bar Jukebox (2015)

Ocena użytkowników: / 0

Allan Harris - Black Bar Jukebox (2015)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

01. Got a Lot of Livin' to Do
02. Miami
03. Catfish
04. I Got the Blues (Lester Leaps In)
05. A Little Bit Scared
06. Take Me to the Pilot
07. Love's the Key
08. My Funny Valentine
09. Can It Be This Is a Dream
10. Daughters
11. Stranger on the Shore
12. You Make Me Feel so Young
13. Haven't We Met - Bonus Track


The myriad fans who’ve fallen under the spell of Gregory Porter need to give Allan Harris a listen. Though Harris has a dozen previous albums to his credit, including fine tributes to Nat King Cole and Billy Strayhorn, he seems long overdue for Porter-sized accolades.

For Black Bar Jukebox, a sly collection of covers and originals, Harris borrows Porter producer Brian Bacchus, who draws forth many of the qualities that have propelled Porter to superstardom: the same laidback assurance and that enticing blend of Sammy Davis Jr. dynamism, Cole sophistication and George Benson jazz smarts.

Eight of the 13 tracks are covers, extending from the plushness of “My Funny Valentine” and show-tune fizz of “A Lot of Livin’ to Do” to a masterfully soulful rendition of Bernie Taupin and Elton John’s “Take Me to the Pilot” and a moving midtempo treatment of John Mayer’s “Daughters” (the sole track featuring Harris’ distinguished guitar work). There’s also a double nod to Kenny Rankin, with a bossa-driven “Catfish” and the lovely, lilting “Haven’t We Met?,” plus a rendering of Eddie Jefferson’s “I Got the Blues” (based on “Lester Leaps In”).

The four Harris originals are equally wide-ranging, beginning with the silken “Miami” (strongly reminiscent of “Where Flamingos Fly”) and misty “Can It Be This Is a Dream,” and progressing to the swinging optimism of “Love’s the Key” and the edge-of-breakup anthem “A Little Bit Scared.” --- Christopher Loudon, jazztimes.com

download (mp3 @320 kbs):

uploaded yandex 4shared mega mediafire zalivalka cloudmailru oboom




Zanim ściągniesz jakikolwiek plik, musisz przeczytać i zaakceptować nasz

Jeśli jesteś artystą lub agentem i chciałbyś by Twoja muzyka została usunięta
z naszej strony, proszę napisz do nas na
i usuniemy ją jak najszybciej.

Który gatunek muzyczny najchętniej chciałbyś u nas widzieć?
Teraz na stronie:
  • 262 gości
Łączna liczba odwiedzin :