Feel the Blues with all that Jazz
English (United Kingdom)Polish (Poland)
Strona Główna Jazz Lena Horne Lena Horne - Lena Goes Latin (1999)

Lena Horne - Lena Goes Latin (1999)

Ocena użytkowników: / 0

Lena Horne - Lena Goes Latin (1999)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

1. From This Moment On Cole Porter 1:52
2. Take Me Rube Bloom / Mack David 2:25
3. Night and Day Cole Porter 2:39
4. Old Devil Moon E.Y. "Yip" Harburg / Burton Lane 2:38
5. More Marcello Ciorciolini / Norman Newell / Matt Oliverio / Riz Ortolani 1:43
6. My Blue Heaven Walter Donaldson / George Whiting 2:26
7. Cuckoo in the Clock Walter Donaldson / Johnny Mercer 3:33
8. Meditation (Meditaçao) Norman Gimbel / Antonio Carlos Jobim / Newton Mendonça 2:19
9. By Myself Howard Dietz / Arthur Schwartz 2:43
10. Island in the West Indies Vernon Duke / Ira Gershwin 2:20
11. Ours Cole Porter 2:47
12. Falling in Love With Love Lorenz Hart / Richard Rodgers 2:00
13. He Loves Me Jerry Bock / Sheldon Harnick 1:52
14. Every Little Bit Hurts 2:20

+bonus tracks (from "Lena Horne Sings Your Request ")

15. Stormy Weather Harold Arlen / Ted Koehler 3:18
16. Poppa Don't Preach to Me Frank Loesser 2:23
17. Honeysuckle Rose Andy Razaf / Fats Waller 2:55
18. The Lady Is a Tramp Lorenz Hart / Richard Rodgers 2:17
19. Lover Man Jimmy Davis / Roger "Ram" Ramirez / Jimmy Sherman 3:11
20. Can't Help Lovin' Dat Man Oscar Hammerstein II / Jerome Kern 2:45

Lena Horne - vocals
Lennie Hayton - arranger, conductor (#1-14)
Shorty Rogers - arranger (#1-14)
Marty Paich - arranger (#15-20)


After a lengthy and successful run on RCA from 1955-1962, Lena Horne cut a few albums for the small Charter label. Picking up on the period craze for all things Latin -- mambo, bossa nova, or otherwise -- Horne recorded this 1963 collection of swinging, Latinized standards for the company. With husband and bandleader Lennie Hayton directing a crack group through some fine Shorty Rogers arrangements, Horne shows off her powerful and supple voice on both obscure fare ("Cuckoo in the Clock") and perennial classics from Tin Pan Alley ("My Blue Heaven"). And while some might balk at the Mancini-like lounge touches informing highlights like the fiercely delivered "From This Moment On" and a bravura reading of "Night and Day," one must ask what would be better to temper the driving rhythms, frenetic horn charts, and Horne's theatrical phrasing. Taking the edge off further, there's the lilting bossa nova of Antonio Carlos Jobim's "Meditation." A fine disc for any Lena Horne fan to pick up. [The 1991 DRG reissue couples Lena Goes Latin with another Horne album, Sings Your Requests.] --- Stephen Cook, Rovi

download: uploaded filecloudio anonfiles yandex 4shared solidfiles mediafire mega nornar



Zanim ściągniesz jakikolwiek plik, musisz przeczytać i zaakceptować nasz

Jeśli jesteś artystą lub agentem i chciałbyś by Twoja muzyka została usunięta
z naszej strony, proszę napisz do nas na
i usuniemy ją jak najszybciej.

Który gatunek muzyczny najchętniej chciałbyś u nas widzieć?
Teraz na stronie:
  • 231 gości
Łączna liczba odwiedzin :