Feel the Blues with all that Jazz
English (United Kingdom)Polish (Poland)
Home Blues Josh White Josh White - Free And Equal Blues (1998)

Josh White - Free And Equal Blues (1998)

User Rating: / 0

Josh White - Free And Equal Blues (1998)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

 1. One Meat Ball - 3:11
 2. In My Time Of Dying - 3:14
 3. Free And Equal Blues - 4:29
 4. Number 12 Train - 3:39
 5. Jim Crow - 2:48
 6. Landlord - 2:37
 7. Betty And Dupree - 3:46
 8. Trouble - 2:40
 9. Beloved Comrade - 2:03
10. Hold On - 2:13
11. Jelly Jelly - 2:27
12. When I Lay Down - 2:36
13. The House I Live In - 2:31
14. Fuhrer - 3:10
15. Minute Man - 2:05
16. Take A Gal Like You - 3:10
17. Whatcha Gonna Do - 1:13
18. Josh White - Don't Lie Buddy.mp3 - 2:21  
19. Motherless Children - 2:30
20. No More Blues (No More Blues Lines) - 2:45
21. Meam Mistreatin' Woman.mp3 - 3:10  
22. Freedom Road - 2:20
23. Miss Otis Regrets - 2:58
24. Careless Love - 3:22
25. T B Blues - 3:21
26. Outskirts Of Town - 3:02

Josh White – vocals, guitar
The Union Boys – vocals (5, 10)
Pete Seeger – vocals, banjo (10)
Jimmy Butts – bass (15)
Mary Lou Williams – piano (15)
Bill Coleman – trumpet (15)
Eddie Dougherty – drums (15)
Lead Belly – vocals, guitar (18)

Smithsonian Folkways Recordings


Josh White (1914-1969) was a brilliant musician whose vibrant guitar and rich vocals captivated audiences for decades. Recorded at the height of his career by Moses Asch in the 1940s, he performs these 26 blues, gospel, popular, and hard-hitting topical songs solo or accompanied by such contemporaries as Lead Belly, Mary Lou Williams, and the Almanac Singers. Extensive biographical notes, photographs, archivist's remarks, bibliography, and discography. 74 minutes. Produced and compiled by Jeff Place and Elijah Wald. Additional annotation by Kip Lornell. --- folkways.si.edu


This fine 26-song compilation of material was recorded by folklorist Moses Asch in the 1940s, at a time when Josh White was beginning to reach an urban, educated audience with his mixture of blues, folk, and pop styles. What comes across particularly strong in this set is his versatility and all-around appeal; he handles topical songs about discrimination and war, spirituals, covers of blues by Leroy Carr and Victoria Spivey, folk ballads, and theatrical pieces, even extending to a cover of Cole Porter's "Miss Otis Regrets." "One Meatball" provided some of the musical inspiration for the classic Merle Travis tune "Sixteen Tons"; "Freedom Road" had lyrics by poet Langston Hughes. Because he was less earthy and not as Southern-sounding as Leadbelly and Big Bill Broonzy, White has been accorded less critical respect, but this anthology shows him to be one of the unquestioned linchpins of the first stirrings of the folk revival. Free & Equal Blues includes copious notes by White biographer Elijah Wald. ---Richie Unterberger, AllMusic Review

download (mp3 @320 kbs):

yandex mediafire uloz.to solidfiles global-files



Last Updated (Wednesday, 17 March 2021 21:21)


Before downloading any file you are required to read and accept the
Terms and Conditions.

If you are an artist or agent, and would like your music removed from this site,
please e-mail us on
and we will remove them as soon as possible.

What music genre would you like to find here the most?
Now onsite:
  • 383 guests
Content View Hits : 226445055