Feel the Blues with all that Jazz
English (United Kingdom)Polish (Poland)
Strona Główna Jazz Diana Krall Diana Krall – Live in Rio (2009)

Diana Krall – Live in Rio (2009)

Ocena użytkowników: / 0

Diana Krall – Live in Rio (2009)

01 I Love Being Here With You 
02 Let's Fall In Love 
03 Where Or When 
04 Too Marvellous For Words 
05 I've Grown Accustomed To His Face 
06 Walk On By 
07 Frim Fram Sauce 
08 Cheek To Cheek 
09 You're My Thrill 
10 Let's Face The Music And Dance 
11 Every Time We Say Goodbye 
12 So Nice 
13 Quiet Nights 
14 Este Seu Olhar 
15 The Boy From Ipanema 
16 I Don't Know Enough About You 
17 'S Wonderful 
18 Exactly Like You

Line Up:
Diana Krall – piano, vocals
Anthony Wilson – guitar
John Clayton – bass
Paulinho Da Costa – percussion
Jeff Hamilton – drums

Recorded November 2008 at Vivo Rio in Rio De Janerio


not being offensive (read that, misunderstood). Such criticism has been leveled at Canadian pianist and singer Diana Krall, who by any standards of success is a rock star in the world of jazz—and it's true, Krall takes absolutely no artistic chances, choosing rather to perform mainstream jazz vocal music superbly well. But that is her charm. Krall's conservative approach has led her to wide crossover appeal and matching commercial success since her debut in 1993.

Live In Rio is Krall's DVD companion to her recently released bossa nova recording, Quiet Nights (Verve, 2009). It captures Krall and her long time band of bassist John Clayton, guitarist Anthony Wilson and drummer Jeff Hamilton, augmented by percussionist Paulinho DaCosta, performing at the Vivo Rio in Rio De Janeiro in November 2008. The performance was also supported by the Rio De Janeiro Orchestra under the direction of Ruria Duprat.

Apparent from the start of the show is the affectionate rapport between Krall and her Brazilian audience. It is obvious that Krall and company enjoy performing for the Rio crowd and that the Rio crowd enjoy being performed for. Also apparent is Krall's rapport with her band, all members smiling at one another. Krall's performance betrays her preparations for Quiet Nights with the performance of several songs from the then unreleased album. These are sprinkled among her typical repertoire of ballads and upbeats.

Krall opens with a frisky "I Love Being Here With You" and remains in this vein until bossa-ing it up with the Hal David/Burt Bacharach classic "Walk On By." This introduces the scaffolding performances of the show, Krall's oft-performed "Frim Fram Sauce," taken at a quick clip, and her newly arranged reading of Irving Berlin's "Cheek to Cheek." On these two pieces Krall earns her living playing, singing and soloing with that creative efficiency she has become known for. So urgent is her performance that the humid Rio night glows on her, indicating just how special this pairing was.

For the Brazilian audience, the performance peaks with the trilogy of "Quiet Nights," "Este Seu Olhar" and "The Boy from Ipanema," all delivered with Krall's relaxed and breathy sexiness. Here she is one with the audience, who she encourages to sing along. Wilson's piquant guitar playing is here best realized, his sensitive soloing and accompaniment well suited for this swaying material. Clayton and Hamilton are impeccable, as always.

One writer in the blogosphere takes Krall and company to task for having aged since the mid-1990s. While it is sad that youth is not a continuing state of affairs, it is nice to see the beautiful and talented Krall in full maturity. Krall is not the be all and end all. Dena DeRose is a better singer and Patti Wicks a better pianist. But, while she may not blaze any creative jazz trails, Krall's intelligent and informed piano playing and her unique timing and delivery will have her remaining the star she is in her proper place in the musical heavens. ---C. Michael Bailey, allaboutjazz.com

download (mp3 @320 kbs):

uploaded yandex 4shared divshare mediafire mega solidfiles zalivalka cloudmailru filecloudio anonfiles oboom



Zmieniony (Czwartek, 11 Wrzesień 2014 13:55)


Zanim ściągniesz jakikolwiek plik, musisz przeczytać i zaakceptować nasz

Jeśli jesteś artystą lub agentem i chciałbyś by Twoja muzyka została usunięta
z naszej strony, proszę napisz do nas na
i usuniemy ją jak najszybciej.

Który gatunek muzyczny najchętniej chciałbyś u nas widzieć?
Teraz na stronie:
  • 215 gości
Łączna liczba odwiedzin :