Feel the Blues with all that Jazz
English (United Kingdom)Polish (Poland)
Home Rock, Metal Chicago Chicago – Chicago II (1970)

Chicago – Chicago II (1970)

User Rating: / 0

Chicago – Chicago II (1970)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

01 - Movin' In
02 - The Road
03 - Poem For The People
04 - In The Country
05 - Wake Up Sunshine play
06 - Make Me Smile
07 - So Much To Say, So Much To Give
08 - Anxiety's Moment
09 - West Virginia Fantasies
10 - Colour My World
11 - To Be Free
12 - Now More Than Ever

01 - Fancy Colours
02 - 25 Or 6 To 4
03 - Prelude
04 - A.M. Mourning
05 - P.M. Mourning
06 - Memories Of Love play
07 - It Better End Soon 1st Movement
08 - It Better End Soon 2nd Movement
09 - It Better End Soon 3rd Movement
10 - It Better End Soon 4th Movement
11 - Where Do We Go From Here

* Peter Cetera – bass, vocals
* Terry Kath – guitar, vocals
* Robert Lamm – keyboard, vocals
* Lee Loughnane – trumpet, vocals
* James Pankow – trombone
* Walter Parazaider – woodwinds, vocals
* Danny Seraphine – drums


The Chicago Transit Authority recorded this double-barreled follow-up to their eponymously titled 1969 debut effort. The contents of Chicago II (1970) underscore the solid foundation of complex jazz changes with heavy electric rock & roll that the band so brazenly forged on the first set. The septet also continued its ability to blend the seemingly divergent musical styles into some of the best and most effective pop music of the era. One thing that had changed was the band's name, which was shortened to simply Chicago to avoid any potential litigious situations from the city of Chicago's transportation department -- which claimed the name as proprietary property. Musically, James Pankow (trombone) was about to further cross-pollinate the band's sound with the multifaceted six-song "Ballet for a Girl in Buchannon." The classically inspired suite also garnered the band two of its most beloved hits -- the upbeat pop opener "Make Me Smile" as well as the achingly poignant "Color My World" -- both of which remained at the center of the group's live sets. Chicago had certainly not abandoned its active pursuit of blending high-octane electric rockers such as "25 or 6 to 4" to the progressive jazz inflections heard in the breezy syncopation of "The Road." Adding further depth of field is the darker "Poem for the People" as well as the politically charged five-song set titled "It Better End Soon." These selections feature the band driving home its formidable musicality and uncanny ability to coalesce styles telepathically and at a moment's notice. The contributions of Terry Kath (guitar/vocals) stand out as he unleashes some of his most pungent and sinuous leads, which contrast with the tight brass and woodwind trio of Lee Loughnane (trumpet/vocals), Walter Parazaider (woodwinds/vocals), and the aforementioned Pankow. Peter Cetera (bass/vocals) also marks his songwriting debut -- on the final cut of both the suite and the album -- with "Where Do We Go from Here." It bookends both with at the very least the anticipation and projection of a positive and optimistic future. ---Lindsay Planer, AllMusic Review

download (mp3 @320 kbs):

yandex mediafire uloz.to mega 4shared cloudmailru gett



Last Updated (Saturday, 16 December 2017 15:29)


Before downloading any file you are required to read and accept the
Terms and Conditions.

If you are an artist or agent, and would like your music removed from this site,
please e-mail us on
and we will remove them as soon as possible.

What music genre would you like to find here the most?
Now onsite:
  • 218 guests
Content View Hits : 105952547