Feel the Blues with all that Jazz
English (United Kingdom)Polish (Poland)
Home Rock, Metal Creepy John Thomas Creepy John Thomas - Creepy John Thomas (1969)

Creepy John Thomas - Creepy John Thomas (1969)

User Rating: / 0

Creepy John Thomas - Creepy John Thomas (1969)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

01. Gut Runs Great Stone - 4:03
02. (Do I Figure) In Your Life (Peter Blumson) - 2:46
03. You've Got To Hide - 2:34
04. One Way Track Blues - 2:09
05. Trippin' Like A Dog And Rocking Like A Bitch - 4:19
06. Ride A Rainbow - 3:05
07. Green Eyed Lady - 3:29
08. Sun And Woman - 3:44
09. Lay It On Me - 3:21
10. Bring Back The Love (Creepy John Thomas, Conny Plank) - 3:23
11. Moon And Eyes Song - 3:41

- Creepy John Thomas (John Thomas, Johnny Driver) - lead vocals, lead guitar, acoustic guitar
- Conny Plank - bongos
- Andy "Shotgun" Marx - lead guitar (02), bass
- Helmut Pohl - drums
- Paul Rodgers - harmony vocals (06)


A guitarist named John Thomas seems to have as much chance of being recognized as an individual as a fire hydrant in an urban setting. An attached nickname can sometimes be helpful when faced with such a challenge, and this Australian-born performer came up with a good one when he dubbed himself Creepy John Thomas after moving to London. Still, not everyone who hired him wanted to call him a creep in liner notes so, for example, he is sometimes mistaken for the British guitarist John "J.T." Thomas, who joined Budgie in 1978. Neither of these Commonwealth blokes have anything to do with the John Thomas who plays electric guitar on hip sides by Joe Henderson and Jimmy McGriff.

Creepy John Thomas also made use of the stage name Johnny Driver. His first professional success took place as a songwriting member of the Flies, a combo based out of Melbourne that had Australian chart hits. The Flies were known to land on support gigs for some of the biggest '60s attractions touring down under, including the Rolling Stones and Roy Orbison. British RCA put out his self-titled Creepy John Thomas in 1969, a follow-up enchantingly entitled Brother Bat Bone ensuing on Teldec. A firm entitled Fingerprint has apparently reissued both of these masterworks, yet Thomas himself warns fans that these are bootleg productions.

Thomas spent about a year in San Francisco following the original release of these solo albums, but by the early '70s had returned to London and a position as guitarist in the Edgar Broughton Band. Two albums with this outfit feature Thomas, the particularly practically entitled Bandages -- seeing as the album has cuts on it, that is -- combining him with studio mastermind Mike Oldfield. The guitarist also collaborated with Dave Stewart and Annie Lennox prior to the beginning of their Eurythmics success.

During the late '70s this artist undertook another location shift, heading to Berlin and starting up his own Johnny & the Drivers band. Thomas enjoyed Berlin, where creeps are popular, for a decade. Again the project netted a pair of albums on as many labels, in this case Polydor and Phonogram pressing the platters. Thomas was "planning his next attack" upon returning to London but soon made his expertise available to other performers as a producer. He eventually released a new solo album, suggesting listeners Remember Me This Way. --- Eugene Chadbourne, allmusic.com

download (mp3 @320 kbs):

yandex mediafire cloudmailru ge.tt



Last Updated (Friday, 12 January 2018 13:40)


Before downloading any file you are required to read and accept the
Terms and Conditions.

If you are an artist or agent, and would like your music removed from this site,
please e-mail us on
and we will remove them as soon as possible.

What music genre would you like to find here the most?
Now onsite:
  • 424 guests
Content View Hits : 129852167