Feel the Blues with all that Jazz
English (United Kingdom)Polish (Poland)
Home Rock, Metal Wishbone Ash Wishbone Ash - Locked In (1976)

Wishbone Ash - Locked In (1976)

User Rating: / 1

Wishbone Ash - Locked In (1976)

01. Rest In Peace - 6:42
02. No Water In The Well (Laurie Wisefield) - 3:46
03. Moonshine - 3:32		play
04. She Was My Best Friend (Martin Turner) - 3:50
05. It Started In Heaven (Laurie Wisefield/Steve Upton) - 3:15
06. Half Past Lovin' - 5:23
07. Trust In You - 5:02
08. Say Goodbye (Martin Turner/Laurie Wisefield) - 4:58

- Andy Powell - electric & acoustic guitars, bagpipes, vocals
- Laurie Wisefield - electric & acoustic guitars, slide guitar, vocals
- Martin Turner - bass, vocals
- Steve Upton - drums, percussion
- Pete Wood - keyboards
- Cissy Houston, Sylvia Shemwell, Eunice Peterson - backing vocals


The history of 'Wishbone Ash' goes back to 1966, when drummer Steve Upton of the 'Scimitars' joined bassist Martin Turner and Martin's brother Glen in the band 'The Empty Vessels'. The trio named themselves 'Tanglewood' and moved to London. Glen Turner quit soon and was replaced by Ted Turner of Birmingham band 'King Biscuit'. The line-up was finalised by guitarist Andy Powell (Ex-'Sugarband'). The two guitarists developed a melodic twin guitar lead style that would become the trademark of 'Wishbone Ash'.

In 1970 'Wishbone Ash' released their self titled first record, establishing a mixture of Blues-Rock, Jazz and English Folk, that the band would elaborate on in their following records. The production work by Martin Birch was excellent and the record contains the masterpiece 'Phoenix', that would become a 'Wishbone Ash' live classic and give way to elaborate improvisations on stage. At the same time the band would start to use lyrics and imagery drawn from mythology and fantasy. like 'The King will come', 'Throw down the sword', 'Persephone' & 'Argus'. In 1971 'Wishbone Ash' released 'Pilgrimage' and a year later 'Argus', both records bringing the 'Wishbone Ash' sound to perfection by introducing elaborate vocal arrangements and sophisticated instrumental passages. Both records are masterpieces. In 1973 the band released their fourth LP, 'Wishbone Four', and toured Europe, documented by their live release 'Live Dates' (1973) and followed by an extended America Tour. In 1974 Ted Turner left and was replaced by Laurie Wisefield (Ex-Home) who added steel guitar and banjo to the 'Wishbone Ash' sound on their 1974 release 'There's The Rub'. During the rest of the seventies the new line-up recorded a series of good but less interesting records.

In 1987 the original line-up re-united fora series of records, including the all instrumental 'Nouveau Calls' (1988), before going again though a series of line-up changes. At the end of the 90's the band found a new stability with founding guitarist Andy Powell, bass player Bob Skeat and drummer Ray Weston, joined in 2004 by Finnish guitarist Muddy Manninen. --- progarchives.com

download: uploaded ziddu


Last Updated (Sunday, 08 July 2012 11:20)


Before downloading any file you are required to read and accept the
Terms and Conditions.

If you are an artist or agent, and would like your music removed from this site,
please e-mail us on
and we will remove them as soon as possible.

What music genre would you like to find here the most?
Now onsite:
  • 215 guests
Content View Hits : 112269024