Feel the Blues with all that Jazz
English (United Kingdom)Polish (Poland)
Home Rock, Metal Green Day Green Day - 1,039/Smoothed Out Slappy Hours (1990)

Green Day - 1,039/Smoothed Out Slappy Hours (1990)

User Rating: / 0

Green Day - 1,039/Smoothed Out Slappy Hours (1990)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

01- At The Library
02- Dont Leave Me
03- I Was There
04- Disappearing Boy play
05- Green Day
06- Going To Pasalacqua
07- 16
08- Road To Acceptance
09- Rest
10- The Judges Daughter play
11- Paper Lanterns
12- Why Do You Want Him
13- 409 In Your Coffee Maker
14- Knowledge
15- 1000 Hours
16- Dry Ice
17- Only Of You
18- The One I Want
19- I Want To Be Alone

* Billie Joe Armstrong – lead vocals, guitar
* Mike Dirnt – bass, backing vocals
* John Kiffmeyer – drums, percussion, backing vocals


When Green Day's first album appeared, anyone predicting that fame, MTV, top-selling albums, and more would be on the horizon in the near future would have been happily patted on the head and then sent to the insane asylum. It helps to remember that Nirvana's breakthrough was still a year away, for one thing, and, for another, 1,039/Smoothed Out Slappy Hour isn't a truly great album in the first place. It's not bad, by any means, and quite arguably just about everything on it could be transposed with a slight aural tweak here and there to Dookie or Insomniac without anyone batting an eye. It's just little more than a fun punk-pop album with some entertaining metallic flash here and there, one of many such records that the late '80s and early '90s produced in the indie rock world. After a great start with "At the Library," it's quickly clear that the rest of the record is going to continue in the same vein. What's fun is realizing how much the band already had to work with, pursuing obvious love of three-chord forebears like the Dickies and the Ramones to energetic if not revelatory ends. Billie Joe Armstrong's balance of disaffection and nervous, goofy passion is well in place, while he's already showing his effective, no-frills approach to chewy feedback melody. Songs like "I Was There" and "Road to Acceptance," not to mention the implicitly weed-celebrating "Green Day" itself, are great calling cards for later breakouts on both levels. Mike Dirnt's no slouch himself, providing good backing vocals when needed for harmony, but oddly enough the most prominent performance throughout comes from original drummer John Kiftmeyer, who wouldn't last through to the next album. Call it a quirk of recording, but there it is. ---Ned Raggett, AllMusic Review


Ta pozycja to reedycja debiutu jednego z najsłynniejszych amerykańskich punkrockowych wykonawców drugiego pokolenia, czyli Green Day z Berkeley w Kalifornii, którzy do rockowego panteonu mieli się później wpisać płytami „Dookie" (1994), „Warning" (2000) i „American Idiot" (2004). „1039/Smoothed Out Slappy Hours" jest tak naprawdę oficjalną kompilacją wczesnych nagrań Green Day, firmowanych przez wytwórnię Lookout! Records. Złożyły się na nią rzeczywisty, pierwszy album „Green Day" oraz dwie EP's - „Slappy" i „1000 Hours". W obecnej reedycji, w formacie digipaku, ten podstawowy zestaw utworów wzbogacony został o nagrania koncertowe, a w warstwie graficznej - o reprodukcje odręcznie pisanych tekstów, dotąd niepublikowane fotografie i 12-stronicową broszurę. Zważywszy fakt, że Green Day od czasu tego właśnie debiutu sprzedali ponad 60 milionów płyt (w tym 22 mln w USA), warto cofnąć się do początków owego sukcesu. ---empik.com

download (mp3 @320 kbs):

yandex mediafire uloz.to gett



Last Updated (Thursday, 05 April 2018 14:48)


Before downloading any file you are required to read and accept the
Terms and Conditions.

If you are an artist or agent, and would like your music removed from this site,
please e-mail us on
and we will remove them as soon as possible.

What music genre would you like to find here the most?
Now onsite:
  • 110 guests
Content View Hits : 114250011