Feel the Blues with all that Jazz
English (United Kingdom)Polish (Poland)
Home Rock, Metal Frank Zappa Frank Zappa – Greasy Love Songs (2010)

Frank Zappa – Greasy Love Songs (2010)

User Rating: / 0

Frank Zappa – Greasy Love Songs (2010)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

01. Cheap Thrills (Original Mix) (2:22)
02. Love Of My Life (Original Mix) (3:09)
03. How Could I Be Such A Fool (Original Mix) (3:34)
04. Deseri (Original Mix) (2:06) play
05. I’m Not Satisfied (Original Mix) (4:03)
06. Jelly Roll Gum Drop (Original Mix) (2:20)
07. Anything (Original Mix) (3:04)
08. Later That Night (Original Mix) (3:05)
09. You Didn’t Try To Call Me (Original Mix) (3:56)
10. Fountain Of Love (Original Mix) (3:01)
11. ‘No. No. No.’ (Original Mix) (2:29)
12. Anyway The Wind Blows (Original Mix) (2:57)
13. Stuff Up The Cracks (Original Mix) (4:34)
14. Jelly Roll Gum Drop (Alternate Mix) (2:17)
15. ‘No. No. No.’ (Alternate Mix) (3:06)
16. Stuff Up The Cracks (Alternate Mix) (6:05)
17. ‘Serious Fan Mail’ (Dialogue) (5:10)
18. Valerie (Alternate Early Version) (3:03)
19. Jelly Roll Gum Drop (Single Version) (2:24)
20. ‘Secret Greasing’ (Dialogue) (3:36)
21. Love Of My Life (Cucamonga Version) (2:05) play
Ray Collins Guitar, Vocals Roy Estrada Bass, Bass (Electric), Vocals Bunk Gardner Sax (Tenor) Billy Mundi Drums Motorhead Sherwood Sax (Baritone), Tambourine Ian Underwood Piano, Sax (Tenor) Frank Zappa Arranger, Conductor, Guitar, Producer, Vocals


Finally!! Zappa fans have been waiting a long time for this. When Frank prepared the digital masters that were eventually sold to Rykodisc, a number of albums were remixed so they always sounded a bit "odd" to folks who grew up with vinyl or tape. Of these, Cruisin' with Ruben and the Jets and We're Only in It for the Money suffered the most. Frank deemed the bass-and-drum tracks from the multi-tracks unusable, and had Arthur Barrow and Chad Wackerman cut new parts (with some additional acoustic bass from Jay Anderson on Ruben) in 1984. They made no effort to replicate the original parts, so those versions were basically unlistenable to most longtime fans. Frank found a proper stereo mix of Money before he died, but the original mix of Ruben remained a strictly analog artifact until 2010 and the release of Greasy Love Songs.

Releasing an album of '50s-style doo wop and R&B in 1968 at the height of psychedelia was (and may still be) viewed as a joke, but this album is no joke. Some of the lyrics may parody the lyrical and social conventions of the '50s, but Zappa loved this music and it shows. According to Frank ("Serious Fan Mail"), promo copies were sent out to oldies radio stations at the time (with no mention of the Mothers) and they were very well received...until word got out. Some of these songs may be funny, but "Anything" is as beautiful as any song in the genre (Ray Collins' lead vocal is pure gold). Since the tunes are fairly simple, it's Frank's arranging skills that are really on display. Four tunes from Freak Out! are totally rearranged for Ruben, and all the doo wop vocal parts are wonderful. But there are also some cool things going on below the surface, too, like some of the rhythmic accents from the drums or the backing vocals on "Fountain of Love" singing the opening melody from Stravinsky's "Rite of Spring."

As for the bonus material, there are a couple alternate mixes of "Jelly Roll Gum Drop" and earlier versions of "Love of My Life" (Studio Z!) and "Valerie." "Secret Greasing" is FZ doing a dramatic reading in a radio station of The Story of Ruben and the Jets from the LP jacket while the alternate version of "Stuff Up the Cracks" adds about a minute-and-a-half to Frank's outro guitar solo! There's also a lecture/interview collage with lots of interesting items including Frank mentioning that he had booked studio time the following week to record a sequel to Ruben! The sound on Greasy Love Songs is spectacular: mint vinyl probably wouldn't sound as good. The packaging is really nice, too. The wait was too long, but thanks to Vaultmeister Joe Travers, the original vinyl mix of Cruisin' with Ruben & the Jets has finally entered the digital age. ---Sean Westergaard, AllMusic Review

download (mp3 @320 kbs):

yandex mediafire uloz.to gett




Last Updated (Friday, 09 March 2018 22:44)


Before downloading any file you are required to read and accept the
Terms and Conditions.

If you are an artist or agent, and would like your music removed from this site,
please e-mail us on
and we will remove them as soon as possible.

What music genre would you like to find here the most?
Now onsite:
  • 278 guests
Content View Hits : 97752484