Feel the Blues with all that Jazz
English (United Kingdom)Polish (Poland)
Home Pop & Miscellaneous Phil Collins Phil Collins – Going Back (2010)

Phil Collins – Going Back (2010)

User Rating: / 0

Phil Collins – Going Back (2010)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

01. Girl (Why You Wanna Make Me Blue) 02:33                play
02. (Love Is Like A) Heat Wav 02:53
03. Uptight (Everything’s Alright) 03:02
04. Some Of Your Lovin 03:20
05. In My Lonely Room 02:25
06. Take Me In Your Arms (Rock Me A Little While) 02:58    play
07. Blame It On The Sun 03:26
08. Papa Was A Rollin’ Stone 06:44
09. Never Dreamed You’d Leave In Summer 03:00
10. Standing In The Shadows Of Love 02:42
11. Do I Love You? 02:51
12. Jimmy Mack 02:57
13. Something About You 02:47
14. Love Is Here And Now You’re Gone 02:40
15. Loving You Is Sweeter Than Ever 02:48
16. Going To A Go-Go 02:49
17. Talking About My Baby 02:48
18. Going Back 04:37

* Phil Collins - vocals, drums
* Ray Monette - guitar
* Eddie Willis - guitar
* Bob Babbitt - bass guitar


Like any baby boomer Phil Collins is no stranger to Motown. Arguably, he has a deeper connection than most, having scored a hit with a cover of the Supremes' “You Can’t Hurry Love” back in 1982 and then proving he was adept at writing his own Tamla bounce with 1988’s “Two Hearts,” so devoting a full album to Motown songs is not a huge stretch, but 2010’s Going Back -- his first studio album since 2002’s Testify and only his fourth record since 1990 -- is nevertheless mildly surprising in its fidelity to its source material. Collins hired three of the surviving Funk Brothers as instrumental support and set about replicating a bunch of Motown classics -- 18 in its standard edition, a whopping 25 in its deluxe edition -- in a studio in Switzerland. Replication is not an exaggeration: these are not interpretations but re-creations of the original arrangements and productions, the only difference being Collins’ vocals. He is too in love with the originals to change even tiny inflections but he’s also enjoying the process of making music with some of his idols. For a listener, this can be a shared fun, particularly when Collins explores some of the lesser-known songs, like “Girl (Why You Wanna Make Me Blue),” “Some of Your Lovin’,” “In My Lonely Room” and “Something About You.” Most of Going Back is devoted to the tried and true, though, the hits that remain staples on oldies stations across the globe, and whenever Collins is singing “Heatwave,” “Uptight,” “Papa Was a Rolling Stone,” “Jimmy Mack” or “Going to a Go-Go,” the album inches away from being a labor of love and into pure nostalgia trip, but even then the album is pleasant enough that it’s hard to complain. ---Stephen Thomas Erlewine, AllMusic Review

download (mp3 @192 kbs):

yandex 4shared mega mediafire uloz.to cloudmailru


Last Updated (Saturday, 03 June 2017 19:49)


Before downloading any file you are required to read and accept the
Terms and Conditions.

If you are an artist or agent, and would like your music removed from this site,
please e-mail us on
and we will remove them as soon as possible.

What music genre would you like to find here the most?
Now onsite:
  • 272 guests
Content View Hits : 127200636