Feel the Blues with all that Jazz
English (United Kingdom)Polish (Poland)
Home Pop & Miscellaneous Bob Marley Bob Marley – Uprising (1980)

Bob Marley – Uprising (1980)

User Rating: / 1

Bob Marley – Uprising (1980)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

01. Coming In From The Cold - 4:31
02. Real Situation - 3:08
03. Bad Card - 2:48				play
04. We And Dem - 3:12			play
05. Work - 3:39
06. Zion Train – 3:34
07. Pimper's Paradise – 3:27
08. Could You Be Loved – 3:55
09. Forever Loving Jah – 3:51
10. Redemption Song – 3:47
11. Redemption Song (band version, b-side, 1980) – 4:47
12. Could You Be Loved (12" mix, single, 1980) – 5:24

- Bob Marley - lead vocals, rhythm & acoustic guitar
- Aston "Family Man" Barrett - bass, piano, guitar, percussion
- Carlton Barrett - drums, percussion
- Tyrone Downie - keyboards, backing vocals
- Alvin Patterson - percussion
- Junior Marvin - lead guitar, backing vocals
- Earl Lindo - keyboards
- Al Anderson - lead guitar
- I Threes (Rita Marley, Marcia Griffiths, Judy Mowatt) - backing vocals


Uprising would be the final studio album featuring Bob Marley & the Wailers to be released during Marley's lifetime. Prophetically, it also contains some of the band's finest crafted material, as if they were cogent that this would be their final outing. The album's blend of religious and secular themes likewise creates a very powerful and singular quest for spirituality in a material world. Although it is argued that an album's graphic design rarely captures the essence of the work inside, the powerful rebirthing image of a rock solid Marley emerging with his arms raised in triumph could not be a more accurate visual description of the musical jubilation within. Musically, the somewhat staid rhythms often synonymous with reggae have been completely turned around to include slinky and liquid syncopation. "Work," "Pimper's Paradise," and the lead-off track "Coming in From the Cold" are all significant variations on the lolloping Rasta beat. The major difference is the sonic textures that manipulate and fill those patterns. The inventive and unique guitar work of Al Anderson -- the only American member of the original Wailers -- once again redefines the role of the lead electric guitar outside of its standard rock & roll setting. "Zion Train" is awash in wah-wah-driven patterns creating an eerie, almost ethereal backdrop against Marley's lyrics, which recollect images from Peter Tosh's "Stop That Train" all the way back on Marley & the Wailers' international debut Catch a Fire. The final track on the original pressing of Uprising is "Redemption Song." Never has an artist unknowingly written such a beautiful and apropos living epitaph. The stark contrast from the decidedly electric and group-oriented album to this hauntingly beautiful solo acoustic composition is as dramatic as it is visionary. Less than a year after the release of Uprising, Marley would succumb to cancer. The 2001 "Definitive Remaster" version of Uprising contains the band version of "Redemption Song" and the 12" mix of "Could You Be Loved." --- Lindsay Planer, AMG

download (mp3 @320 kbs):

yandex 4shared mega mediafire zalivalka cloudmailru uplea ziddu



Last Updated (Sunday, 17 July 2016 08:44)


Before downloading any file you are required to read and accept the
Terms and Conditions.

If you are an artist or agent, and would like your music removed from this site,
please e-mail us on
and we will remove them as soon as possible.

What music genre would you like to find here the most?
Now onsite:
  • 373 guests
Content View Hits : 127296409