Feel the Blues with all that Jazz
English (United Kingdom)Polish (Poland)
Home Jazz Ida Cox Ida Cox - Complete Recorded Works Vol.2 (2000)

Ida Cox - Complete Recorded Works Vol.2 (2000)

User Rating: / 0

Ida Cox - Complete Recorded Works Vol.2 (2000)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

Vol.2 (1924-1925)

1. Mean Lovin' Man Blues (Take 3)
2. Down The Road Bound Blues (Take 2)
3. Last Time Blues (Take 2)
4. Worried Any How Blues
5. Chicago Monkey Man Blues (Take 1)
6. Chicago Monkey Man Blues (Take 2)
7. Mean Papa Turn Your Key
8. Blues Ain't Nothin' Else But! (Take 2)
9. Worried In Mind Blues (Take 1)			play
10. My Mean Man Blues (Take 1)
11. Kentucky Man Blues
12. Cherry Picking Blues
13. Wild Women Don't Have The Blues
14. Worried In Mind Blues (Take 3)
15. Death Letter Blues
16. My Mean Man Blues (Take 4)
17. Those Married Man Blues
18. Misery Blues
19. Graveyard Bound Blues
20. Mississippi River Blues
21. Georgia Hound Blues
22. Blue Kentucky Blues				play
23. Black Crepe Blues
24. Fare Thee Well Poor Gal

Ida Cox (vocals); 
Miles Pruitt (guitar, banjo); 
Charlie Dixon (banjo); 
Don Redman (clarinet, soprano saxophone); 
Stump Evans, Jimmy O'Bryant, Johnny Dodds (clarinet); Charles Harris (alto saxophone);
Elmer Chambers, Tommy Ladiner, Howard H. Scott (cornet); Charlie Green (trombone); Lovie Austin & Her Blue Serenaders, Fletcher Henderson (piano); Kaiser Marshall (drums).


Unlike most of her contemporaries, who spent at least part of their time singing vaudeville-type material and pop songs, Ida Cox stuck throughout her career to the blues. On the second of four Document CDs that reissue all of her 1920s material (although some of the many alternate takes are bypassed), Cox is mostly accompanied by either Lovie Austin's Blues Serenaders (which usually includes cornetist Tommy Ladnier and clarinetist Jimmy O'Bryant, although the great Johnny Dodds is on six selections) or, on one date, members of Fletcher Henderson's Orchestra. The recording quality of these Paramount 78s (which cover a 13-month period) is erratic, but there are a few classics here, including "Chicago Monkey Man Blues" (which has some lyrics that would later be used for "Going to Chicago"), "Blues Ain't Nothin' Else But," "Wild Women Don't Have the Blues" and "Death Letter Blues." Throughout, Ida Cox (who was second to Bessie Smith at the time) is quite consistent, making the most of her limitations. Recommended. ~Scott Yanow


This is the 2nd of four CD's by the Document label which feature all of Ida Cox's early classic blues performances in chronological order. One of the many highlights of this CD are a classic rendition of "Chicago Mankey Man Blues." All of the CD's in this series are easily recommended to jazz and blues collectors as well as the novice listener. Cox's voice isn't dated like most singers from the 20's, she still communicates to today's listeners(like Bessie Smith). And the musicians are wonderful the best jazz musicians of the 20's like Henry "Red" Allen, Coleman Hawkins, Louis Armstrong, Sidney Beechet, all back her up on various CD's in the series. Highly recommended, though you may want to start with Volume one and work you're way through Volume Four. At least get Volume one, or two this is essential music for any serious jazz collector, and even for the novice. ---aaron amazon.com

download:   4shared divshare


Last Updated (Monday, 24 November 2014 14:14)


Before downloading any file you are required to read and accept the
Terms and Conditions.

If you are an artist or agent, and would like your music removed from this site,
please e-mail us on
and we will remove them as soon as possible.

What music genre would you like to find here the most?
Now onsite:
  • 239 guests
Content View Hits : 130042656