Feel the Blues with all that Jazz
English (United Kingdom)Polish (Poland)
Home Jazz Erskine Hawkins Erskine Hawkins And His Orchestra - The Chronological Classics 1936-1938 (1992)

Erskine Hawkins And His Orchestra - The Chronological Classics 1936-1938 (1992)

User Rating: / 0

Erskine Hawkins And His Orchestra - The Chronological Classics 1936-1938 (1992)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

1 	It Was a Sad Night in Harlem		2:40
2 	(It Will Have to Do) Until the Real Thing Comes Along		3:03
3 	I Can't Escape From You		3:08
4 	Without a Shadow of a Doubt		3:10
5 	Swinging in Harlem		3:11
6 	Coquette		3:14
7 	Big John's Special		3:07
8 	A Swing Little Rhythm		2:56
9 	Way Down Upon the Swanee River		2:39
10 	Dear Old Southlaqnd		2:45
11 	Uproar Shout		3:07
12 	If You Leave Me		2:48
13 	I'll See You in My Dreams		2:11
14 	Red Cap		2:51
15 	I'll Get Along Somehow		2:52
16 	I Found a New Baby		2:40
17 	Carry Me Back to Old Virginny		2:22
18 	Let Me Daydream		2:41
19 	Who's Sorry Now		2:38
20 	Lost in the Shuffle		2:42
21 	Rockin' Rollers' Jubilee		2:45
22 	I'm Madly in Love With You		2:58
23 	Let This Be a Warning to You		2:45
24 	Miss Hallelujah Brown		3:18


This excellent CD has the first 24 recordings by trumpeter Erskine Hawkins' Orchestra, which was originally known as the 'Bama State Collegians. From the start, Hawkins had his sound together, with such top soloists as Dud Bascomb and the leader on trumpets, either Paul Bascomb or Julian Dash on tenor, baritonist Haywood Henry, and pianist Avery Parrish. Although there are some vocals from James Morrison, Billie Daniels and Merle Turner, it is the many spirited instrumentals that made Hawkins' big band one of the most popular of the next decade. Among the highlights of this superior set are "Swinging In Harlem," "Uproar Shout," "I Found a New Baby" and "Rockin' Rollers' Jubilee." ---Scott Yanow, AllMusic Review

download (mp3 @320 kbs):

yandex mediafire uloz.to cloudmailru gett





Before downloading any file you are required to read and accept the
Terms and Conditions.

If you are an artist or agent, and would like your music removed from this site,
please e-mail us on
and we will remove them as soon as possible.

What music genre would you like to find here the most?
Now onsite:
  • 419 guests
Content View Hits : 72041188