Feel the Blues with all that Jazz
English (United Kingdom)Polish (Poland)
Home Jazz Duke Ellington Duke Ellington Orchestra – Berlin Concert 1969

Duke Ellington Orchestra – Berlin Concert 1969

User Rating: / 1

Duke Ellington Orchestra – Berlin Concert 1969

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

1 Announcements/ Take The "A" Train (theme) (0:57)
2 Rockin' In Rhythm (6:08)
3 Take The "A" Train (5:43)
4 Up Jump (3:45)
5 La Plus Belle Africaine (8:13)
6 unknown title (drum solo) (2:19)
7 El Gato (4:04)
8 Black Butterfly (4:36)
9 Things Ain't What They Used To Be (3:15)
10 Don't Get Around Much Anymore (2:42)
11 Caravan (0:43)
12 Mood Indigo (4:01)
13 I'm Beginning To See The Light (1:27)
14 Solitude (2:11)
15 It Don't Mean A Thing (If It Ain't Got That Swing) (1:09)
16 Cool And Groovy (2:32)
17 Sophisticated Lady (4:16)
18 April In Paris (2:43)
19 Satin Doll (6:11)
20 Diminuendo And Crescendo In Blue (8:14)
21 Wild Bill BLues (6:33)
22 unknown title (p, b, dr only) (&:01)
23 A Little Square (fl, p, b, dr only) (4:06)
24 I Can't Get Started (4:32)
25 C Jam Blues (9:55)
26 Meditation (p-solo) (5:09)

Duke Ellington Orchestra:
Cat Anderson, Cootie Williams, Willie Cook, Harold Johnson,
Mercer Ellington, Benny Bailey (tp), Lawrence Brown, Chuck Connors,
Buster Cooper (tb), Johnny Hodges, Russell Procope, Paul Gonsalves,
Harold Ashby, Harry Carney (sax), Norris Turney (fl), Duke Ellington (p),
Wild Bill Davis (org), Victor Gaskin (b), Rufus Jones (dr), Tony Watkins (voc).


European jazz DVDs are always a risky purchase. While some labels make an effort to acquire master copies of professionally shot videos, others like Impro-Jazz have a tendency to make due with deteriorated copies generations removed from the original source. That is the case with this disappointing DVD, most of which comes from a 1969 Berlin concert. While Ellington's band was still fairly strong and there are plenty of excellent solos, especially a trio of features for alto saxophonist Johnny Hodges highlighted by a rousing "Things Ain't What They Used to Be," the fairly recent "La Plus Belle Africaine" (showcasing clarinetist Russell Procope, bassist Victor Gaskin, and baritone saxophonist Harry Carney), plus the usual "Take the 'A' Train" featuring the leader and Cootie Williams' blistering trumpet, the video quality is a bit murky, the audio just a little better. The bonus tracks excerpted from a 1958 Amsterdam concert are essentially worthless; not only is the video quality poor, but these selections were issued by Naxos in their Jazz Icons in 2007 from far better sources, along with additional songs. Skip this disappointing DVD. ---Ken Dryden, Rovi

download (mp3 @98 kbs):

uploaded yandex 4shared mediafire mega solidfiles zalivalka cloudmailru filecloudio oboom



Last Updated (Thursday, 02 October 2014 14:54)


Before downloading any file you are required to read and accept the
Terms and Conditions.

If you are an artist or agent, and would like your music removed from this site,
please e-mail us on
and we will remove them as soon as possible.

What music genre would you like to find here the most?
Now onsite:
  • 362 guests
Content View Hits : 129868528