Feel the Blues with all that Jazz
English (United Kingdom)Polish (Poland)
Home Jazz California Guitar Trio California Guitar Trio with Tony Levin and Pat Mastelotto (2002)

California Guitar Trio with Tony Levin and Pat Mastelotto (2002)

User Rating: / 1

California Guitar Trio with Tony Levin and Pat Mastelotto (2002)

1. Melrose Avenue -  2:16
2. Skyline -   4:41
3. Dancing Anne -  3:38 
4. Heart of the Sunrise -  7:16 
5. Hanagasa -  3:32 
6. Zundoko-Bushi -  3:37 
7. Blockhead -  3:47 
8. Dance of Maya -  7:12 
9. Swampy Space -  3:40 
10. Swampy Return - 2:10 
11. Train to Lamy -  5:11 
12. Eve -  4:11 
13. What I Am -  6:29 
14. The Chase -  7:36 

Tony Levin - Bass, Chapman Stick 
Pat Mastelotto - Trap Kit, Buttons 
Paul Richards - Guitar, Slide Guitar, Mixing 
Bert Lams - Guitar, Mixing, Guitar (Tenor) 
Hideyo Moriya - Guitar, Mandocello


Since 1998, the California Guitar Trio has regularly toured with expanded versions of the band. The fan favorite is no doubt the quintet form with King Crimson members Tony Levin and Pat Mastelotto. A live album, Live at the Key Club, was made available in 2001 through the CGT Direct Collectors' Series. CG3+2 takes the quintet in the studio to record their repertoire. The track list includes a couple new CGT compositions, jams and studio constructions credited to the whole group, a few more of those incredible covers the band is known for, and a few old favorites revisited. Granted, "Melrose Avenue," "Blockhead," and "Train to Lamy," all dating back to the trio's first two albums (Yamanashi Blues in 1994; Invitation in 1995), suffer a bit from overexposure, but having a rhythm section to back them up is a whole new thing -- "Melrose Avenue" turns into a splendidly driving album opener. The group compositions, in which engineer Bill Munyon also had a word, are not as satisfying as the trio's own songs. Somewhat looser, they don't pack as much energy or beauty as "Skyline" and "Eve," the two new pieces co-written by the team of Bert Lams, Paul Richards, and Hideyo Moriya. The highlights are provided by the covers: Yes' "Heart of the Sunrise," the Mahavishnu Orchestra's "Dance of Maya" (did someone mention virtuosity?), and two delightful Japanese traditional tunes rearranged by Moriya -- "Zundoko-Bushi" even includes bits of King Crimson's "21st Century Schizoid Man" and "Vrooom." CG3+2 is only half new to the fans and constitutes a meager offering composition-wise. But if the idea of the guitar trio being backed by such a skilled rhythm section makes you salivate, then by all means grab it. You won't be disappointed! ---François Couture, Rovi

download: uploaded yandex 4shared mediafire solidfiles mega zalivalka filecloudio anonfiles oboom


Last Updated (Friday, 08 August 2014 15:30)


Before downloading any file you are required to read and accept the
Terms and Conditions.

If you are an artist or agent, and would like your music removed from this site,
please e-mail us on
and we will remove them as soon as possible.

What music genre would you like to find here the most?
Now onsite:
  • 235 guests
Content View Hits : 117212757