Feel the Blues with all that Jazz
English (United Kingdom)Polish (Poland)
Home Jazz Bill Bruford Bill Bruford's Earthworks - Earthworks (1987)

Bill Bruford's Earthworks - Earthworks (1987)

User Rating: / 0

Bill Bruford's Earthworks - Earthworks (1987)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

1. Thud (4:14)
2. Making A Song And Dance (5:56)
3. Up North (5:28)
4. Pressure (7:26)
5. My Heart Declares A Holiday (4:40) play
6. Emotional Shirt (4:48) play
7. It Needn't End In Tears (5:15)
8. The Shepherd Is Eternal (1:52)
9. Bridge Of Inhibition (4:17)

- Bill Bruford - drums, percussion, whirled instruments
- Iain Ballamy - saxophones
- Django Bates - keyboards, horn and trumpet
- Mick Hutton - acoustic bass


After the dissolution of KING CRIMSON (80's edition), Bill BRUFORD recruited sax player Iaian Ballamy, keyboardist, horn and trumpet player Django Bates and acoustic bass player Mick Hutton to form EARTHWORKS - a perfect platform to showcase his true passion: jazz. Apart from BRUFORD, EARTHWORKS's latest incarnation featured Tim Garland on sax, flute and bass clarinet, Steve Hamilton on piano and Mark Hodgson on bass. The band is credited with six studio albums, two live cd's and one compilation disk.

BRUFORD himself considers their first album (the eponymous 1987 "Earthworks") one of the highlights of his career and perhaps rightly so. Even though it is very much a product of the jazz genre, the eclecticism of influences including world music elements, the varied structures and moods of the compositions, and the dynamic musicianship make this as progressive an album as one can get. With "The Sound of Surprise" released in 2001, however, the band seems to have ditched electronic sound sculptures in favour of a more traditional jazz kit; as a result, the music reaches an almost cool, hard-bop and old-school fusion, not unlike what post-boppers were doing before BRUFORD joined YES in 1968. This album, along with the subsequent studio release "The Sound of Surprise" in 2001, isn't exactly cutting edge or innovative but still quite likeable.

download: uploaded yandex 4shared mediafire solidfiles mega zalivalka filecloudio anonfiles oboom


Last Updated (Saturday, 26 July 2014 20:46)


Before downloading any file you are required to read and accept the
Terms and Conditions.

If you are an artist or agent, and would like your music removed from this site,
please e-mail us on
and we will remove them as soon as possible.

What music genre would you like to find here the most?
Now onsite:
  • 169 guests
Content View Hits : 130127663