Feel the Blues with all that Jazz
English (United Kingdom)Polish (Poland)
Home Jazz Jaga Jazzist Jaga Jazzist - What We Must (2005)

Jaga Jazzist - What We Must (2005)

User Rating: / 0

Jaga Jazzist - What We Must (2005)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

1. All I Know Is Tonight
2. Stardust Hotwl
3. For All You Happy People play
4. Oslo Skyline play
5. Swedenborgske ROM
6. Mikado
7. I Have a Ghost, Now What?

* Lars Horntveth - guitars, bass clarinet, tenor saxophone, keyboards
* Andreas Mjos - guitars, vibraphone, drums, electronics
* Harald Froland - guitars, sound effects
* Ketil Einarsen - flute, keyboards, percussion, breath controller
* Mathias Eick - trumpet, keyboards, vibraphone, bass instrument
* Lars Wabo - trombone, percussion
* Line Horntveth - tuba, percussion
* Even Ormestad - keyboards, bass instrument
* Andreas Schei - keyboards
* Martin Horntveth - drums, drum machine


Jaga Jazzist is an experimental jazz band from Norway that rose to prominence when the BBC named their first album, A Livingroom Hush (Smalltown Supersound/Ninja Tune), the best jazz album of 2002. The core of the band are brothers and main songwriters Lars and Martin Horntveth. Martin formed Jaga Jazzist together with Ivar Christian Johansen in 1994 while they still were in their teens, though Johansen later left the group. They are also prominent figures of the Norwegian pop act The National Bank.

The band features trumpets, trombone, electric guitar, bass, tuba, bass clarinets, Fender Rhodes, vibraphone and a rack of electronics, as well as strong melodies and rhythms. Talk Talk, Soft Machine, John Coltrane, Don Cherry, Aphex Twin, Stereolab, Squarepusher and Tortoise are frequently mentioned as sources of inspiration. Jaga Jazzist is widely considered to be one of the premier acts of the so-called nu-jazz movement of Scandinavia. Also, The Mars Volta cites Jaga Jazzist as one of their favourite bands.

‘What We Must’ is an album released in 2005 by the Ninja Tune label. This album was a change of direction for the 10 piece with Martin Horntveth moving to a more permanent position on the drums. This meant the group lost their Drum and Bass feel and began to sound more like a band, with the loss of electronics. The sound of the album has more of a post-rock and nu-jazz sound. The art for the album was by Kim Hiorthoy.



Jaga Jazzist – norweski zespół muzyczny, grający muzykę eksperymentalną z pogranicza jazzu, rocka i muzyki elektronicznej. Został założony w 1994 r. przez braci Larsa i Martina Horntvethów.

download (mp3 @320 kbs):

uploaded yandex 4shared mega solidfiles zalivalka cloudmailru filecloudio oboom



Last Updated (Friday, 28 November 2014 20:11)


Before downloading any file you are required to read and accept the
Terms and Conditions.

If you are an artist or agent, and would like your music removed from this site,
please e-mail us on
and we will remove them as soon as possible.

What music genre would you like to find here the most?
Now onsite:
  • 246 guests
Content View Hits : 122299764