Feel the Blues with all that Jazz
English (United Kingdom)Polish (Poland)
Home Jazz Gil Scott-Heron Gil Scott-Heron - I'm New Here (2010)

Gil Scott-Heron - I'm New Here (2010)

User Rating: / 0

Gil Scott-Heron - I'm New Here (2010)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

01. On Coming From A Broken Home (Pt. 1)
02. Me And The Devil
03. I'm New Here
04. Your Soul And Mine
05. Parents (Interlude)
06. I'll Take Care Of You
07. Being Blessed (interlude)
08. Where Did The Night Go
09. I Was Guided (Interlude)
10. New York Is Killing Me
11. Certain Things (Interlude)
12. Running
13. The Crutch
14. I've Been Me (Interlude)
15. On Coming From A Broken Home (Pt. 2)
Gil Scott-Heron – vocals, piano Christiana Liberis, Mary Jo, Mike Block, Una Tone – sgtrings (4,6,13) Lawson White – arranger Richard Russell - producer


It’s been a long, hard road to redemption for Gil Scott-Heron, the influential musician, poet and author, whose last full-length album, Spirits, was released 16 years ago. In the interim, he’s been in and out of jail on various drug-related offences, his taste for narcotics sapping the creative impulses that once burned so brightly. Scott-Heron’s saviour came in the unlikely shape of XL Records boss Richard Russell – the man responsible for rave classic The Bouncer by Kicks Like a Mule – who offered to produce an album by the singer during his stint in Rikers.

Their collaboration is bookended by a cracked, two-part reminiscence of Scott-Heron’s roots titled On Coming From a Broken Home, which is based around a typically fastidious piece of wordplay. There’s a wonderfully circuitous spectrum of influences at work on the song – Kanye West has sampled Scott-Heron in the past, this track is built from a refrain from the hip hop star’s Flashing Lights, which borrows from a song by Scott-Heron’s peer in the 70s socio-political music scene, Curtis Mayfield.

Scott-Heron has an intuitive way of grasping work written by others and skewing it to fit his own austere worldview. He covers Bobby Bland’s I’ll Take Care of You and Robert Johnson’s Me and the Devil, but the most surprising addition is the title track, a version of a song by downcast indie rockers Smog. Scott-Heron appropriates the piece for his own use, as a way of reintroducing himself to the world (“No matter how far wrong you’ve gone, you can always turn around,” he muses), while also addressing the past (“I had an ego on me the size of Texas. I forget. Does that mean big or small?”).

He continues to dissect the past and realign himself with the present throughout, carefully pouring all his life experience into every syllable and drawing on the triumphs and aberrations that shaped him. Meanwhile, Russell is careful never to intrude, instead using deathly silence and the dolorous thud of treated drum sounds to provide a stark backing. The one shaft of light that pierces a hole through the centre of the record is New York is Killing Me, which approaches something resembling exuberance via the upbeat clop of a handclap-driven beat.

I’m New Here is an unlikely but triumphant return, packed full of sadness, experience and an underlying feeling of someone making peace with their mistakes and regrets. ---Nick Neyland, BBC Review

download (mp3 @192 kbs):

yandex gett zalivalka cloudmailru



Last Updated (Saturday, 21 January 2017 12:41)


Before downloading any file you are required to read and accept the
Terms and Conditions.

If you are an artist or agent, and would like your music removed from this site,
please e-mail us on
and we will remove them as soon as possible.

What music genre would you like to find here the most?
Now onsite:
  • 155 guests
Content View Hits : 96539286