Feel the Blues with all that Jazz
English (United Kingdom)Polish (Poland)
Home Jazz Bing Crosby Bing Crosby - The Definitive Collection (2006)

Bing Crosby - The Definitive Collection (2006)

User Rating: / 0

Bing Crosby - The Definitive Collection (2006)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

01. Where The Blue Of The Night (Meets The Gold Of The Day) 03:01
02. Stardust 02:48
03. Blue Hawaii 03:09
04. Pennies From Heaven0 3:12
05. Sweet Leilani 03:19
06. You Must Have Been A Beautiful Baby 02:57
07. Home On The Range 03:12
08. White Christmas 03:00
09. Sunday, Monday Or Always 02:35
10. Swinging On A Star 02:32
11. Too-Ra-Loo-Ra-Loo-Ral (That's An Irish Lullaby) 02:59
12. Don't Fence Me In 03:07
13. Road To Morocco 02:37
14. It's Been A Long, Long Time 02:59
15. MacNamara's Band 02:43
16. Alexander's Ragtime Band 03:00
17. Now Is The Hour (Maori Farewell Song) 03:09
18. Dear Hearts And Gentle People 02:41
19. Play A Simple Melody 02:55
20. In The Cool, Cool, Cool Of The Evening 03:26
21. Ol' Man River 02:22
22. Around The World (In Eighty Days) 02:56


The chief drawbacks to this album lie in its title and its marketing, not its contents. In the late 20th and early 21st centuries, Universal Music, repository of the largest catalog of vintage music in the world, embarked on several reissue programs with different price points aimed at different consumers. There was the 20th Century Masters/The Millennium Collection of best-ofs, relatively short single-disc packages at a discount price. And there was the Gold series of two-disc compilations. In between was a series called The Definitive Collection, full-priced, single-disc collections. A given artist might have releases in each of the series. The trouble, of course, lies in the word "definitive," and when it comes to Bing Crosby, co-compiler and annotator F.B. "Wig" Wiggins, an official of the International Club Crosby, immediately acknowledges the problem. "The 'definitive' Bing Crosby -- on a single disc -- is almost a contradiction in terms," he admits at the outset. Instead, Wiggins prefers the word "representative," which he uses twice in his liner notes to describe the album. Unfortunately, it is the word "definitive" that appears in the title, and it is reinforced by a sticker on the shrink wrap declaring, "His 22 Greatest Hits." The album contains nothing of the sort. It is what Wiggins calls it, representative. Starting with Crosby's radio theme song, "Where the Blue of the Night (Meets the Gold of the Day)," the album attempts to cover the bases of Crosby's extensive discography, which Wiggins, the author of a book on the subject (Bing Crosby's Commercial Recordings: From 78s to CDs, self-published, 2001), estimates to run to 2,000 titles. There are examples of Hawaiian music ("Blue Hawaii," "Sweet Leilani," "Now Is the Hour [Maori Farewell Song]"), western music ("Home on the Range," "Don't Fence Me In"), Christmas music ("White Christmas"), and Irish music ("Too-Ra-Loo-Ra-Loo-Ral [That's an Irish Lullaby]," "MacNamara's Band"), as well as pop standards ("Stardust," "Pennies from Heaven," "You Must Have Been a Beautiful Baby"), some of them written specifically for Crosby ("Swinging on a Star"). The arrangements range from swing band accompaniment to jazz groups to a cappella groups, with Crosby handling everything from ballads to jump tunes ably. There are pairings with some stellar partners including the Andrews Sisters, Bob Hope, and Al Jolson. And the collection has breadth as well as variety, spanning 25 years from 1931 to 1956. Add it all up, and you've got a sampler that would make an ideal introduction to a listener trying to get an idea of Bing Crosby's music from an hour's worth of music. And that would be fine, if only marketing exigencies didn't require that the package be called The Definitive Collection instead of, say A Representative Collection. --- William Ruhlmann, Rovi

download: uploaded yandex 4shared mediafire solidfiles mega zalivalka filecloudio anonfiles oboom


Last Updated (Thursday, 31 July 2014 19:52)


Before downloading any file you are required to read and accept the
Terms and Conditions.

If you are an artist or agent, and would like your music removed from this site,
please e-mail us on
and we will remove them as soon as possible.

What music genre would you like to find here the most?
Now onsite:
  • 144 guests
Content View Hits : 92559458