Feel the Blues with all that Jazz
English (United Kingdom)Polish (Poland)
Home Classical Weber Carl Maria von Weber – The Three Pintos (Arrivabeni) [2003]

Weber – The Three Pintos (Arrivabeni) [2003]

User Rating: / 0

Weber – The Three Pintos (Arrivabeni) [2003]

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

Die drei Pintos, J. Anh. 5 (completed G. Mahler) 

1 Act I: Ensemble - Leeret die Becher, mutige Zecher!	00:06:44 
2 Act I: Rondo a la Polacca - Was ich dann tu', das frag' ich mich		00:03:22 
3 Act I: Terzettino - Ei, wer hatte das gedacht!
4 Act I: Romanze vom verliebten Kater Mansor - Leise weht' es, leise wallet 00:03:44 
5 Act I: Seguidilla a dos - Wir, die den Musen dienen	00:05:24 
6 Act I: Terzett - Also frisch das Werk begonnen!	00:07:25 
7 Act I: Finale - Auf das Wohlergeh'n der Gaste!	00:11:11 

1 Entr'acte	00:06:40 
2 Act II: Introduction und Ensemble - Wisst ihr nicht, was wir hier sollen?	00:11:59 
3 Act II: Ariette - Hochste Lust ist treues Lieben		00:03:41 
4 Act II: Arie - Ach, wenn das du doch vermochtest!	00:08:19 
5 Act II: Duett - Ja, das Wort, ich will es sprechen	00:05:13 
6 Act II: Terzett-Finale - Geschwind nur von hinnen!	00:03:27 
7 Act III: Lied mit Chor - Schmucket die Halle mit Bluten und Zweigen	00:02:35 
8 Act III: Duett - Nun, da sind wir	00:03:01 
9 Act III: Terzettino - Madchen, ich leide heisse Liebespein!	00:01:51 
10 Act III: Ariette - Ein Madchen verloren, was macht man sich d'raus?	00:04:23 
11 Act III: Rondo-Terzett - Ihr, der so edel	00:06:00 
12 Act III: Habt ihr es denn schon vernommen?		00:02:34 
13 Act III: Mit lieblichen Blumen, mit duftenden Bluten		00:01:57 
14 Act III: Finale A - Was wollt Ihr?	00:10:32 
15 Act III: Finale B - Heil sei Euch, Don Pantaleone!	00:02:55

Robert Holzer, baryton-basse
Lubomir Matl, choirmaster
Peter Furlong, ténor
Barbara Zechmeister, soprano
Sophie Marilley, mezzo-soprano
Eric Shaw, ténor
Alessandro Svab, basse
Stewart Kempster, basse
Sinead Campbell, soprano
Ales Jenis, baryton

Belarussian National Philharmonic Orchestra
Paolo Arrivabeni – conductor

Live recording of the 2003 Wexford Festival Opera


The Wexford Festival was founded in 1951. It aims to present three rarely performed operas each year. The performances are spread over eighteen days and draw audiences from all over the world. Notable names such as Mirella Freni and Ugo Benelli appeared at Wexford in their early careers, gaining much valuable experience and exposure.

On completion of his opera Der Freischütz in the summer of 1820 Weber decided on a comic opera, Die drei Pintos, to a libretto written by Theodor Hell. He worked on the score during 1821 but complications over dedicating it to the King caused him to put the work aside. He never completed it. His plan was for the opera to consist of an overture and sixteen numbers. When Weber stopped work there were only sketches for seven items. Weber’s widow passed the sketches to Meyerbeer for him to complete the work. He did nothing with them for twenty years before declaring the task to be impossible. In 1886 the young Gustav Mahler, then aged 26 and with none of his compositions published, undertook the task. He found that the sketches needed not only orchestration but to be figured and harmonized as well. Mahler filled out extra material from Weber’s other music. In an erudite sleeve-note, Michael Kennedy gives the final scenario with indications of which ‘extra’ numbers were chosen.

The implausible plot concerns the substitution, twice, of Don Pinto on his way to Seville to marry Clarissa who is in love with Gomez. Needless to say the second substitution makes Gomez the third Pinto and he marries Clarissa. Eventually the real Pinto turns up and Clarissa’s father is furious, but all ends happily. A happy outcome cannot be posed for this recording. The best live recordings come about when audiences stifle their coughs and limit their applause to the ends of scenes or acts. With recordings of live opera performances there are the further complications of off-microphone singing and the noise of stage movement, the latter being beyond the control of the recording engineer. In a comic opera there is likely to be much coming and going and audience laughter if the performance is going well. It does go well here, but I have to admit to finding so much extraneous noise seriously limiting enjoyment and appreciation. Consequently I cannot seriously recommend this recording to those interested in Weber’s intentions or Mahler’s realisation. I do realise that when such recordings are envisaged, the recording company does not know how the production will pan out and they take a gamble. Those interested in the opera should pursue the early 1970s RCA recording with Lucia Popp, Werner Hollweg and Hermann Prey. The only people likely to enjoy this recording are those who were present at the Wexford performances and who want a memento of the occasion. ---Robert J Farr, musicweb-international.com

download (mp3 @320 kbs):

uploaded yandex 4shared mega mediafire solidfiles zalivalka cloudmailru oboom




Before downloading any file you are required to read and accept the
Terms and Conditions.

If you are an artist or agent, and would like your music removed from this site,
please e-mail us on
and we will remove them as soon as possible.

What music genre would you like to find here the most?
Now onsite:
  • 162 guests
Content View Hits : 237701459