Feel the Blues with all that Jazz
English (United Kingdom)Polish (Poland)
Home Classical Vivaldi Antonio Antonio Vivaldi - Stabat Mater (Celibidache) [1959]

Antonio Vivaldi - Stabat Mater (Celibidache) [1959]

User Rating: / 1

Antonio Vivaldi - Stabat Mater (Celibidache) [1959]

1. Stabat Mater
2. Cujum animam
3. Pro peccatis suae gentis
4. Eja Mater
5. Fat ut ardeat cor meum
6. Amen

Marga Höffgen - contralto
Orchestra A. Scarlatti di Napoli della RAI
Sergiu Celibidache - conductor


Vivaldi's early career as a composer was devoted mostly to instrumental works. Then, in 1712, when Vivaldi was in his mid-30s, he was commissioned to write the Stabat Mater included here for the church of Santa María della Pace in Brescia. Current scholarship indicates that it was his first sacred work. Then as now, the singer was a male, although we don't know whether he was a castrato or a countertenor. Perhaps unsurprisingly, this Stabat Mater doesn't feature the soloist at the expense of the instrumentalists, whose music is nevertheless kept to a modest scale. Modesty also figures in the work's thematic content, as the music of the first three sections is recycled in the second three. Virtuoso display and extreme emotion are absent in this work, which is attractive, balanced, and above all, devout. ---Ray Tuttle, classical.net

download: uploaded yandex 4shared mediafire solidfiles gett mega zalivalka filecloudio anonfiles oboom


Last Updated (Monday, 23 June 2014 21:54)


Before downloading any file you are required to read and accept the
Terms and Conditions.

If you are an artist or agent, and would like your music removed from this site,
please e-mail us on
and we will remove them as soon as possible.

What music genre would you like to find here the most?
Now onsite:
  • 239 guests
Content View Hits : 130342610