Feel the Blues with all that Jazz
English (United Kingdom)Polish (Poland)
Home Classical Stravinsky Igor Igor Stravinsky – Symphonies: Psalms; In C; In 3 Movements (1999)

Igor Stravinsky – Symphonies: Psalms; In C; In 3 Movements (1999)

User Rating: / 0

Igor Stravinsky – Symphonies: Psalms; In C; In 3 Movements (1999)

Symphony in 3 Movements
1) 1. Allegro (10:15)
2) 2. Andante - Interlude (L'istesso tempo) (6:00)
3) 3. Con moto (6:16)

Symphony in C
4) 1. Moderato alla breve - Tempo agitato senza troppo accelerare - Tempo I (9:50)
5) 2. Larghetto concertante (6:30)
6) 3. Allegretto - Meno mosso - Tempo I - Più mosso - Tempo I (4:59)
7) 4. Largo - Tempo giusto, alla breve - Poco meno mosso (7:11)

Symphonie de Psaumes
8) 1. Exaudi orationem meam, Domine (3:30)
9) 2. Expectans expectavi Dominum (6:42)
10) 3. Alleluia, laudate Dominum (11:07)

Chicago Symphony Orchestra and Chorus
Sir Georg Solti - conductor


Ever the pragmatist, Stravinsky composed both the Symphony of Psalms and the Symphony in C ‘to the glory of God’, and dedicated them at the same time to the Boston and Chicago Symphony Orchestras, respectively. The first of them, with its unique sonorities (the staccato opening chord alone is enough to identify its composer beyond any doubt), and the haunting ‘Allelujahs’ of its finale, is one of Stravinsky’s authentic masterpieces – at once austere and intensely dramatic. This altogether fine performance was one of Solti’s very last recordings, and there surely could have been no more fitting way for him to bow out. The Symphony in C is a rather more impersonal affair, though both the sombre slow introduction - scored for low bassoons and brass alone - to its finale, and its concluding apotheosis, have deep resonance. As for the Symphony in Three Movements, composed in the Hollywood of the early 1940s, much of it sounds disturbingly like self-parody (there are strong echoes of Le Sacre), and its finale is uncharacteristically bombastic. These are virtuoso scores, and they receive appropriate treatment from the Chicago Orchestra, though Solti surely drives the graceful opening movement of the Symphony in C too hard. --- Misha Donat, BBC Music Magazine

download: uploaded yandex 4shared mediafire solidfiles mega zalivalka filecloudio anonfiles oboom


Last Updated (Sunday, 18 May 2014 19:42)


Before downloading any file you are required to read and accept the
Terms and Conditions.

If you are an artist or agent, and would like your music removed from this site,
please e-mail us on
and we will remove them as soon as possible.

What music genre would you like to find here the most?
Now onsite:
  • 518 guests
Content View Hits : 238125024