Feel the Blues with all that Jazz
English (United Kingdom)Polish (Poland)
Home Classical Schubert Franz Franz Schubert – Rosamunde (Abbado) [1991]

Franz Schubert – Rosamunde (Abbado) [1991]

User Rating: / 2

Franz Schubert – Rosamunde (Abbado) [1991]

01 Overture Die Zauberharfe, D.644
02 Entr'acte No. 1
03 Chorus Of Spirits: "In Der Tiefe Wohnt Das Licht"
04 Ballet Music No. 1 - Andante Un Poco Assai
05 Shepherd's Melody
06 Chorus Of Shepherds: "Hier Auf Den Fluren...."
07 Entr'acte No. 3 - Andantino
08 Romance: "Der Vollmond Strahlt Auf Bergeshöh'n"
09 Entr'acte No. 2
10 Chorus Of Huntsmen: "Wie Lebt Sich's So Fröhlich Im Grünen"
11 Ballet Music No. 2

Anne Sofie von Otter - mezzo-soprano
The Chamber Orchestra of Europa
Claudio Abbado - conductor


Abbado and the COE give joyful performances of this magical incidental music. It is a revelation to hear the most popular of the entr'actes played so gently: it is like a whispered meditation... Anne Sofie von Otter is an ideal soloist. ---The Penguin Guide


Schubert provided an overture and nine numbers for a play called Rosamunde, Queen of Cyprus by Wilhelmine von Chézy. It was a resounding flop, closing in two nights, but the music was well-received. Even so, Schubert did not take advantage of the evident high regard the audience had for it by extracting the music for concert purposes; that service was not performed until 1868, when Grove and Sullivan made their famous discovery of a treasury of forgotten Schubert scores (including the Unfinished Symphony) in Vienna. Schubert's nine numbers are: (1) Entr'acte in B minor; (2) Ballet in B; (3) Entr'acte No. 2 in D major and Romanza; (4) Spirit Chorus; (5) Entr'acte No. 3 in B flat major. (6) Shepherd's Melody; (7) Shepherds' Chorus; (8) Hunters' Chorus; and (9) Ballet No. 2 in G. Schubert re-used the tune of No. (5) in a later Impromptu and in his Quartet, D. 804. The score was composed at great speed and to some extent thrown together from other sources: the overture used (now commonly called the "Rosamunde" Overture) was originally written for an operetta called Die Zauberharfe. Another piece is also designated "Rosamunde" Overture for piano duet, but it was also composed earlier, for the operetta Alfonso und Estrella. Incidentally, Gerald Abraham speculates that the B minor Entr'acte is the missing final movement of the Unfinished Symphony in B minor. Scientific examination of the manuscripts themselves tends counter to this view. ---Joseph Stevenson, Rovi

download: uploaded yandex 4shared mediafire solidfiles mega zalivalka filecloudio anonfiles oboom


Last Updated (Monday, 28 April 2014 23:15)


Before downloading any file you are required to read and accept the
Terms and Conditions.

If you are an artist or agent, and would like your music removed from this site,
please e-mail us on
and we will remove them as soon as possible.

What music genre would you like to find here the most?
Now onsite:
  • 278 guests
Content View Hits : 235110604