Feel the Blues with all that Jazz
English (United Kingdom)Polish (Poland)
Home Classical Rachmaninov Sergei Sergei Rachmaninov - The Miserly Knight (1994)

Sergei Rachmaninov - The Miserly Knight (1994)

User Rating: / 0

Sergei Rachmaninov - The Miserly Knight (1994)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

1. Scene I
2. Scene II
3. Scene III 

Mikhail Krutikov (Bass), 
Vladimir Kudriashov (Tenor), 
Alexander Arkhipov (Tenor), 
Vladislav Verestnikov (Baritone), 
Pyotr Gluboky (Bass) 

Bolshoi Theater Orchestra
Andrey Chistiakov - conductor


The second of Rachmaninov's three operas, The Miserly Knight was premiered in 1906 and is based on one of Pushkin's 'Little Tragedies' which were written as psychological dramas in blank verse. Originally written for the great Russian bass, Fyodor Chaliapin, it contains some of Rachmaninov's most haunting and evocative music.

The opera is written for five male voices with no romantic subplot! It is the story of an amoral, omnipotent father, the Baron, who because of his visceral attachment to his vast wealth, keeps his son, Albert, in abject poverty.

The dark and atmospheric The Miserly Knight is a neglected work in Rachmaninov's canon. Andrey Chistiakov and his Russian forces are renowned for their interpretations of their native repertoire and their recordings of works by Rachmaninov are particularly highly acclaimed.

download: uploaded yandex 4shared mediafire solidfiles mega filecloudio nornar ziddu


Last Updated (Sunday, 30 March 2014 15:18)


Before downloading any file you are required to read and accept the
Terms and Conditions.

If you are an artist or agent, and would like your music removed from this site,
please e-mail us on
and we will remove them as soon as possible.

What music genre would you like to find here the most?
Now onsite:
  • 137 guests
Content View Hits : 97599110