Feel the Blues with all that Jazz
English (United Kingdom)Polish (Poland)
Home Classical Mozart W.A. Mozart - Davide penitente KV469 (Marriner) [1987]

Mozart - Davide penitente KV469 (Marriner) [1987]

User Rating: / 0

Mozart - Davide penitente KV469 (Marriner) [1987]

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

1. Coro: Alzai le flebili voci al Signor 	4:51 	
2. Coro: Cantiam le glorie 	1:59 	
3. Aria: Lungi le cure ingrate 	4:39 	
4. Coro: Sii pur sempre benigno, oh Dio 	1:09 	
5. Duetto: Sorgi, o Signore 	2:49 	
6. Aria: A te, fra tanti affanni 	6:28 	
7. Coro: Se vuoi, puniscimi 	6:03 	
8. Aria: Tra l'oscure 	6:36 	
9. Terzetto: Tutte le mie 	3:18 	
10. Coro: Chi in Dio sol	4:39

Margaret Marshall, soprano 
Iris Vermillion, mezzo-soprano 
Hans-Peter Blochwitz, tenor 
Radio-Sinfonieorchester Stuttgart 
Neville Marriner, conductor.


Anyone who loves Mozart's Mass in C minor, K. 427, will love his Davidde Penitente Cantata, K. 469, because eight of the ten numbers in the cantata are taken note for note from the opening two movements of the mass, but set to an Italian text on the subject of the Biblical King David. And for the two newly composed numbers, Mozart wrote splendid arias for two of his favorite singers, giving the audience added value at no extra charge. ---James Leonard, Rovi


In 1785, at the height of his career in Vienna, Mozart was commissioned by the Viennese Society of Musicians to write a work for a Lenten benefit concert. Short of time, he recycled the Kyrie and Gloria from his earlier unfinished Mass in C Minor to form part of the oratorio Davide penitente. Drawing upon the psalms of David, both penitential and joyful, this is a work of great beauty, notable for its memorable choruses, exquisite writing for the woodwind and, in particular, the two new solo arias, A te, fra tanti affanni (In you, amid such tribulation) and Tra l’oscure ombre funeste (Amid the dark grievous shadows), both of which begin with a long expressive opening followed by a virtuoso second section. ---naxos.com

download: uploaded yandex 4shared mediafire solidfiles mega zalivalka filecloudio anonfiles oboom



Before downloading any file you are required to read and accept the
Terms and Conditions.

If you are an artist or agent, and would like your music removed from this site,
please e-mail us on
and we will remove them as soon as possible.

What music genre would you like to find here the most?
Now onsite:
  • 195 guests
Content View Hits : 235108260