Feel the Blues with all that Jazz
English (United Kingdom)Polish (Poland)
Home Classical Grieg Edvard Edvard Grieg - Cello Sonata Op.36 – Lyric Suite Op.54

Edvard Grieg - Cello Sonata Op.36 – Lyric Suite Op.54

User Rating: / 0

Edvard Grieg - Cello Sonata Op.36 – Lyric Suite Op.54

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

Cello Sonata In A Minor, Op. 36
1. Allegro Agitato
2. Andante Molto Tranquillo
3. Allegro Molto E Marcato

Havard Gimse – Piano
Oystein Birkeland - Cello, 1993

Lyric Suite Op.54
4. Shepherds_Boy
5. Bell-Ringing
6. Norwegian March
7. Notturno
8. March of the Trolls

Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra
Paavo Jarvi – conductor, 1986


For some, it comes as a great surprise that Edvard Grieg's catalog contains five sonatas: one for piano solo, three for violin and piano, and one for cello and piano. All of these but two -- the third and last violin sonata (Op. 45) and the Cello Sonata -- are very early works, composed by Grieg in the mid-1860s. The Sonata for cello and piano in A minor, Op. 36 (1883), on the other hand, is the work of a composer almost 20 years older; while Grieg's frustrations and difficulties with traditional genres (sonata, string quartet, symphony, and the like) are well-documented in his personal letters, the Cello Sonata's urgent and energetic dramatic thrust, as well as voluptuous, satiny songfulness, have ensured its position as one of the three or four best-loved late nineteenth century cello sonatas.


Edvard Grieg composed and published about 60 so-called "Lyric Pieces" for piano over a period of almost 40 years, from the time of his first real creative outpouring to just a few years before his death in 1907. The six Lyric Pieces contained in Opus 54 are considered to be some of his finest products, and it is not surprising that he selected four of them for the charming orchestral Lyric Suite. --- Blair Johnston, Rovi

download: uploaded anonfiles yandex 4shared solidfiles mediafire mega filecloudio


Last Updated (Monday, 02 December 2013 20:05)


Before downloading any file you are required to read and accept the
Terms and Conditions.

If you are an artist or agent, and would like your music removed from this site,
please e-mail us on
and we will remove them as soon as possible.

What music genre would you like to find here the most?
Now onsite:
  • 136 guests
Content View Hits : 130608274