Feel the Blues with all that Jazz
English (United Kingdom)Polish (Poland)
Home Classical Steffani Agostino Agostino Steffani - Duetti da Camera (Curtis) [1981]

Agostino Steffani - Duetti da Camera (Curtis) [1981]

User Rating: / 0

Agostino Steffani - Duetti da Camera (Curtis) [1981]

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

01 - Tu m'aspettasti al mare
02 - M'hai da piangere un di
03 - Io voglio provar
04 - Placidissime catene
05 - Gia tu parti play
06 - E perche non m'uccidete
07 - No, no, no, non voglio se devo amare play
08 - Liberta! Liberta!

Daniela Mazzuccato, soprano
Carolyn Watkinson, mezzosopran
Paul Esswood, countertenor
John Elwes, tenor

Alan Curtis, harpsichord & direction
Wouter Moeller, violoncello continuo


Agostino Steffani, (b. July 25, 1654, near Venice [Italy]—d. Feb. 12, 1728, Frankfurt am Main [Germany]), composer, singer, cleric, and diplomat, celebrated for his cantatas for two voices.

Steffani studied music in Venice, Rome, and Munich, where he served the Elector of Bavaria from 1667 to 1688, becoming by 1681 director of chamber music. He left Munich and entered the service of the Duke of Brunswick, later elector of Hanover. After some years he ceased to be musical director, however, and entered upon a new career. While continuing to practice music, he became important as a diplomat based in Düsseldorf (1703–09), going on several missions and acting for a short time as ambassador in Brussels. He returned to Hanover in 1709. It was he who induced Handel to settle in Hanover and hence, indirectly, in London, when the new elector became King George I. Steffani was ordained in 1680 and later became papal protonotary for north Germany, with the status of bishop. He composed about 20 operas, most of them before 1700. It was, however, his numerous chamber duets in cantata form—following, with considerable melodic and structural distinction, the models of Luigi Rossi, Giacomo Carissimi, and Alessandro Stradella—that won for Steffani a European reputation; more than 100 of these are known.

download: uploaded yandex 4shared mediafire solidfiles mega zalivalka filecloudio anonfiles oboom


Last Updated (Wednesday, 14 May 2014 09:55)


Before downloading any file you are required to read and accept the
Terms and Conditions.

If you are an artist or agent, and would like your music removed from this site,
please e-mail us on
and we will remove them as soon as possible.

What music genre would you like to find here the most?
Now onsite:
  • 225 guests
Content View Hits : 235188121