Feel the Blues with all that Jazz
English (United Kingdom)Polish (Poland)
Home Classical Renaissance Palestrina, Gombert, Lassus, Victoria ‎– Song Of Songs (2009)

Palestrina, Gombert, Lassus, Victoria ‎– Song Of Songs (2009)

User Rating: / 1

Palestrina, Gombert, Lassus, Victoria ‎– Song Of Songs (2009)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

01 – Jacob Clemens non Papa: Egos flos campi
02 – Giovanni Pierluigi da Palestrina: Osculetur me
03 – Anonymous: Antiphon: Dum esset rex
04 – Francisco Guerrero: Surge, propera amica mea
05 – Nicolas Gombert: Quam pulchra es
06 – Anonymous: Antiphon: Nigra sum
07 – Orlande de Lassus: Veni, dilecte mi
08 – Tómas Luis de Victoria: Vadam et circuibo
09 – Anonymous: Alleluia: Tota pulchra es
10 – Francisco Guerrero: Ego flos campi
11 – Jean Lhéritier: Nigra sum
12 – Anonymous: Antiphon: Laeva eius
13 – Rodrigo de Ceballos: Hortus conclusus
14 – Giovanni Pierluigi da Palestrina: Nigra Sum
15 – Anonymous: Antiphon: Speciosa facta es
16 – Sebastián de Vivanco: Veni, dilecte mi
17 – Francisco Guerrero: Trahe me post te
18 – Anonymous: Antiphon: lam hiems transiit
19 – Tómas Luis de Victoria: Vidi speciosam 

Stile Antico:
Alto Vocals – Carris Jones, Eleanor Harries, Emma Ashby
Bass Vocals – Matthew O'Donovan, Oliver Hunt, Will Dawes
Soprano Vocals – Alison Hill (tracks: 1, 4, 19), Helen Ashby, Kate Ashby, Rebecca Hickey
Tenor Vocals – Andrew Griffiths, Benedict Hymas (tracks: 2, 5, 8, 11), Peter Asprey, Tom Herford


Stile Antico’s third recording won the 2009 Gramophone Award for Early Music and reached the top of the US Classical Chart. The beautiful and erotic texts of the Song of Songs, a love-poem traditionally attributed to King Solomon, inspired the great composers of the Continental Renaissance to some of their most ardent music. This rich selection traces an emotional arc from the intensity of the Flemish masters to the most vivid, madrigialian motets by Vivanco and Victoria. ---stileantico.co.uk


The members of the British vocal ensemble Stile Antico, founded in 2001, have an exceptionally pure and youthful sound. In previous albums the group has explored English music of the Renaissance, and here it turns to sixteenth and early seventeenth settings of texts from the Song of Songs by a variety of continental composers. The selections include some of the masterworks of high Renaissance polyphony, including music by Nicolas Gombert, Orlande de Lassus, Jacob Clemens non Papa, Francisco Guerrero, Giovanni Pierluigi da Palestrina, and Tomás Luis de Victoria. The works by lesser composers, including Jean Lhéritier, Rodrigo de Ceballos, and Sebastián de Vivanco are no less impressive and affecting, especially in performances as polished and attentive as these. The elaborately polyphonic textures that prevail are effectively shown off and are kept from becoming too much of a good thing because they are interspersed with monophonic plainchant antiphons that serve as refreshing aural palate cleansers. The ensemble sings with immaculate intonation and an impressively broad expressive range. The group works without a conductor, and the sensitivity and attention that that demands of each member pays off beautifully in these performances, where they seem to operate as a single organic entity. The sound of the SACD is clean, but atmospheric and nicely ambient. The only caveat is that, through some anomaly of recording, some initial consonants, particularly "s" and "ch," have a percussive punch that works against the prevailing tone of smooth serenity. ---Stephen Eddins, AllMusic Review

download (mp3 @320 kbs):

yandex mediafire uloz.to gett




Before downloading any file you are required to read and accept the
Terms and Conditions.

If you are an artist or agent, and would like your music removed from this site,
please e-mail us on
and we will remove them as soon as possible.

What music genre would you like to find here the most?
Now onsite:
  • 443 guests
Content View Hits : 162650120