Feel the Blues with all that Jazz
English (United Kingdom)Polish (Poland)
Home Classical Glazunov Alexander Alexander Glazunov – Pieces For Orchestra (1990)

Alexander Glazunov – Pieces For Orchestra (1990)

User Rating: / 0

Alexander Glazunov – Pieces For Orchestra (1990)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

1. Serenade no.1 op.7
2. Serenade no.2 op.11				play
3. Two Pieces op.14 – 1 Idyll
4. Two Pieces op.14 – 2 Dreams About The Orient
5. Carnival Overture op.45
6. Karelian Legend – Musical Picture op.99
7. Prelude To The Memory of  V.V. Stasov no.1 op.85		play
8. Prelude To The Memory of N.A. Rimski-Kordsakov no.2 op.85
9. Symphonic Prologue To The Memory of N.V. Gogol op.87

USSR Symphonic Orchestra
Evgeni Svetlanov - conductor 


Alexander Konstantinovich Glazunov (10 August[2] 1865 – 21 March 1936) was a Russian composer of the late Russian Romantic period, music teacher and conductor. He served as director of the Saint Petersburg Conservatory between 1905 and 1928 and was also instrumental in the reorganization of the institute into the Petrograd Conservatory, then the Leningrad Conservatory, following the Bolshevik Revolution. He continued heading the Conservatory until 1930, though he had left the Soviet Union in 1928 and did not return. The best known student under his tenure during the early Soviet years was Dmitri Shostakovich.

Glazunov was significant in that he successfully reconciled nationalism and cosmopolitanism in Russian music. While he was the direct successor to Balakirev's nationalism, he tended more towards Borodin's epic grandeur while absorbing a number of other influences. These included Rimsky-Korsakov's orchestral virtuosity, Tchaikovsky's lyricism and Taneyev's contrapuntal skill. His weaknesses were a streak of academicism which sometimes overpowered his inspiration and an eclecticism which could sap the ultimate stamp of originality from his music. Younger composers such as Prokofiev and Shostakovich eventually considered his music old-fashioned while also admitting he remained a composer with an imposing reputation and a stabilizing influence in a time of transition and turmoil.

download: uploaded anonfiles yandex 4shared solidfiles mediafire mega filecloudio


Last Updated (Sunday, 24 November 2013 20:16)


Before downloading any file you are required to read and accept the
Terms and Conditions.

If you are an artist or agent, and would like your music removed from this site,
please e-mail us on
and we will remove them as soon as possible.

What music genre would you like to find here the most?
Now onsite:
  • 341 guests
Content View Hits : 235240261