Feel the Blues with all that Jazz
English (United Kingdom)Polish (Poland)
Home Blues Mississippi John Hurt Mississippi John Hurt – Today (1966)

Mississippi John Hurt – Today (1966)

User Rating: / 0

Mississippi John Hurt – Today (1966)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

1. Payday (Hurt) - 4:18
2. I'm Satisfied (Hurt) - 2:52
3. Candy Man (Hurt) - 2:54
4. Make Me a Pallet on the Floor (Traditional) - 4:30
5. Talking Casey (Hurt) - 5:04
6. Corrina, Corrina (Traditional) - 1:48
7. Coffee Blues (Hurt) - 3:43
8. Louis Collins (Hurt) - 4:05
9. Hot Time in the Old Town Tonight (Traditional) - 3:29
10. If You Don't Want Me Baby (Hurt) - 3:17
11. Spike Driver Blues (Hurt) - 3:23
12. Beulah Land (Traditional) - 3:44
Solo performer: Mississippi John Hurt (vocals, guitar).


Today is Mississippi John Hurt's first and finest studio release since his "rediscovery" on his Avalon farm by folklorist Tom Hoskins in 1963. Eclipsed possibly only by his earlier 1928 Sessions, this album shows a more mature Hurt picking his way through standards and originals after the Depression years and Hurt's fall into obscurity before the folk revival of the 1960s. It shows, however, that all that the great bluesman has lost is years; his voice retains its characteristic Buddha-esque warmth and it is still difficult to believe that there is just one man playing on the seemingly effortless guitar work. The music on the album comes from a variety of different influences, from the fun and poppy "Hot Time in Old Town Tonight" and "Coffee Blues," to the bluesy standards "Candy Man" (Hurt's most famous song) and "Spike Driver's Blues" to the soulful spirituals "Louis Collins" and "Beulah Land." Hurt's tranquil guitar work -- mixing country, Scottish folk, and Delta blues -- strings all of the songs along the same simple and elegant thread. Hurt himself never could explain his guitar playing, as he used to say, "I just make it sound like I think it ought to." Regardless, that sound, along with a mellow and heartfelt voice, wizened here by decades, combine to make Today an unforgettable whole. A truly essential album of the folk revival, unrivaled in its beauty and warmth. ---David Freedlander, Rovi

download:  uploaded anonfiles 4shared mega yandex mixturecloud mediafire ziddu


Last Updated (Saturday, 01 June 2013 20:42)


Before downloading any file you are required to read and accept the
Terms and Conditions.

If you are an artist or agent, and would like your music removed from this site,
please e-mail us on
and we will remove them as soon as possible.

What music genre would you like to find here the most?
Now onsite:
  • 143 guests
Content View Hits : 105957878