Feel the Blues with all that Jazz
English (United Kingdom)Polish (Poland)
Home Blues Howlin' Wolf Howlin' Wolf - Chess Records Outtakes, Demos & Alternate Takes 1948 – 1968

Howlin' Wolf - Chess Records Outtakes, Demos & Alternate Takes 1948 – 1968

User Rating: / 1

Howlin' Wolf - Chess Records Outtakes, Demos & Alternate Takes 1948 – 1968

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

Howlin' Wolf
Chess Records Outtakes, Demos & Alternate Takes 1948 - 1968
Recorded In Chicago And Memphis
Plus Chicago 1972 Live ( 1 Song )

1. Bluebird #1
2. Dorothy Mae #1
3. Sweet Woman
4. Saddle My Pony
5. Worried All The Time

6. Mama Died And Left Me
7. I'm Not Joking

8. Highway My Friend
9. Hold Your Money
10. Streamline Woman
11. California Blues
12. Stay Here Till My Baby Comes Back
13. Crazy About You Baby
14. C.V. Wine Blues
15. Look A Here Baby

16. Decoration Day
17. Well That's All Right
18. My Baby Walked Off
19. Smile At Me
20. Bluebird #2
21. Everybody's In The Mood
22. Chocolate Drop
23. Come Back Home
24. Dorothy Mae #2
25. Highway Man #1
26. Oh Red
27. My Last Affair
28. Howlin' Wolf Boogie
29. Howlin' For My Baby (Wolf Is At Your Door)

30. Highway Man #2
31. Getting Old And Gray

32. Come To Me Baby
33. Don't Mess With Me Baby

34. So Glad
35. My Life
36. Going Back Home
37. I Didn't Know #1
38. Bluebird #3
39. You Ought To Know

40. Nature
41. Walk To Camp Hall
42. My Baby Told Me
43. Somebody In My Home
44. Midnight Blues #1
45. Midnight Blues #2
46. I Didn't Know #2

47. I Better Go Now #1
48. I Better Go Now #2
49. Can't Put Me Out

50. Getting Late
51. Howlin' Blues
52. I've Been Abused
53. My People's Gone

54. Long Green Stuff

55. Joy To My Soul

56. Poor Wind That Never Change

57. Commit A Crime

58. Dust My Broom
59. Rollin' And Tumblin'
60. Tired Of Crying

Unknown Date
61. I'm Leaving You

1972 - Live In Chicago
62. Big House
Personnel includes: Howlin’ Wolf – harmonica, vocals Willie Johnson – guitar Hubert Sumlin - guitar


This chronologically arranged triple-CD set could be considered the bootleg parallel to MCA's Chess Box volume on Howlin' Wolf. Assembled here are 60 tracks by Howlin' Wolf that fall outside the official canon of his work, covering his years in Memphis and Chicago, and intersecting with his work for Sam Phillips, the Bihari Brothers, the Chess brothers, etc. Some of it has been heard before in various contexts, or in other versions, but pulling it all together in one place ends up building a whole that is greater than the sum of its parts -- across 20 years of recording, the voice and the persona blaze away and ring out like a force of nature, on numbers like "Dorothy Mae," "Blackbird," "Midnight Blues," and "I Don't Know." There are some genuine surprises here, too, including a 1968 outtake of "Rollin' and Tumblin'," that doesn't last long enough to have been considered for release -- it adjoins a surging "Tired of Crying" that is one of the highlights of Wolf's late-career work at Chess. The quality of the material varies considerably, as one would expect from the wide-ranging dates represented -- the 1940s material is from disc sources that can be very rough at times, but Wolf's vocals and Willie Johnson's guitar cut through the sonic imperfections in evidence; from 1950 onward, most of the tracks are derived from higher quality sources, mostly audiotape masters, and the fidelity on discs two and three, covering the years 1952-1968, is a match for some legitimate Chess reissues that we've seen. These platters are CD-Rs, but of a very high quality -- they play fine on most DVD players (which aren't supposed to be able to read most CD-Rs). The artwork is ambitious if ultimately a little crude, and there's no annotation to speak of, but the listening experience is beyond criticism, and this set -- which has turned up at the best collectors' shops -- is highly recommended for anyone who can't get enough Howlin' Wolf (which is, mostly, anyone who's ever heard him). --- Bruce Eder, All Music Guide

download: uploaded anonfiles yandex 4shared solidfiles mediafire mega filecloudio binge


Last Updated (Saturday, 07 December 2013 17:57)


Before downloading any file you are required to read and accept the
Terms and Conditions.

If you are an artist or agent, and would like your music removed from this site,
please e-mail us on
and we will remove them as soon as possible.

What music genre would you like to find here the most?
Now onsite:
  • 128 guests
Content View Hits : 94550815