Feel the Blues with all that Jazz
English (United Kingdom)Polish (Poland)
Home Blues Climax Chicago Blues Band Climax Chicago Blues Band – Plays On (1969)

Climax Chicago Blues Band – Plays On (1969)

User Rating: / 1

Climax Chicago Blues Band – Plays On (1969)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

01. Flight - 7:49 +
02. Hey Baby, Everything's Gonna Be Alright! Yeh Yeh Yeh - 4:23
03. Cubano Chant (Ray Bryant) - 5:31
04. Little Girl (Graham Bond) - 2:57			play
05. Mum's The Word - 3:42
06. Twenty Past Two/Temptation Rag (Climax Blues Band/Lodge) - 3:19
07. So Many Roads (Marshall Paul) - 6:32		play
08. City Ways - 3:19
09. Crazy 'Bout My Baby - 6:06

- Colin Cooper - vocals, saxophones, harmonica, bamboo whistle
- Peter Haycock - vocals, guitars
- Arthur Wood - keyboards
- Derek Holt - bass, rhythm guitar, Mellotron
- George Newsome – drums


Following on from the hard-hitting blues of their debut album, Plays On caught the Climax Chicago Blues Band in somewhat transitional waters, testing any number of different musical styles, but never really setting on any. Certainly the funk thump that characterized their better later work was still an idea waiting to be explored, as the group instead fluttered between the scurrying jazz of the opening "Flight," the psychedelic tinge of "Hey Baby, Everything's Gonna Be Alright Yeh Yeh Yeh," the semi-Santana fusion of "Cubano Chant," and the heavy blues of "So Many Roads," all interrupted by "Mum's the Word," a dynamic Moog sequence that builds out of the theme from 2001, and then freefalls into total space rock. Even amid all the other moods that litter the album, it's an unexpected find and a glorious treasure. So much variety does not necessarily work to the album's advantage, while its transition to CD is even more disorienting. On vinyl, "Mum's the Word" closed the first side and at least let you catch your breath before continuing. On disc, it is immediately succeeded by the blistering blues/barrelhouse boogie of "Twenty Past Two Temptation Rag," and the culture clash is almost palpable. Still, if audacious ambition be your guide, Plays On stands proud among the Climax Blues Band's most accomplished albums, and merits your unreserved attention. --- Dave Thompson

download:  uploaded ziddu 4shared gett mixturecloud mediafire


Last Updated (Friday, 01 March 2013 23:19)


Before downloading any file you are required to read and accept the
Terms and Conditions.

If you are an artist or agent, and would like your music removed from this site,
please e-mail us on
and we will remove them as soon as possible.

What music genre would you like to find here the most?
Now onsite:
  • 110 guests
Content View Hits : 105933829