Feel the Blues with all that Jazz
English (United Kingdom)Polish (Poland)
Home Blues Trudy Lynn Trudy Lynn With The Calvin Owens Blues Orchestra - I'm Still Here (2007)

Trudy Lynn With The Calvin Owens Blues Orchestra - I'm Still Here (2007)

User Rating: / 0

Trudy Lynn With The Calvin Owens Blues Orchestra - I'm Still Here (2007)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

1. Swing Boogie
2. Blues Singing Woman
3. I'm Still Here
4. Hands off My Woman
5. Blues Party
6. Since I Found You
7. Saturday Night
8. Left Me Singing the Blues
9. Everybody's Got a Blues Song to Sing
10. Boogie Woogie Gumbo
11. Starry Eyes
12. You're the Only One
13. Welcome Home Baby
14. Payin' the Price


I have been a long time admirer of Trudy, so it gives me great pleasure to review this album. Trudy has joined forces with Calvin Owens and his Blues Orchestrato to create a slighty old feel to this 14 track album, which features 8 songs written by Trudy's long time friend Rue Davis and 3 written by Trudy. The album was produced by Calvin and his production team of Marvin Sparks and Andy Bradley. Harrison Calloway the legendary arranger also was involved in this project along with Calvin's horn arranger Nelson Mills. The album is a kind of throwback to the sixties and that is exactly why this project works so well, the orchestra and Trudy gel together to produce a well crafted set of songs. One thing I must add, this is not, despite the title, a Trudy Lynn album, it is more a Calvin Owens album with Trudy as the featured singer on 10 tracks and Nelson Mills on 1 track and 3 instrumentals.

The album starts with the snappy "Swing Boogie", the first of Rue Davis's songs, Trudy's vocal gets into full flight from the start and full marks to the crisp horn section lead by Nelson Mills. Nelson is the featured vocalist on "Hands Off My Woman" and on "Starry Eyes" an instrumental which he wrote, his trumpet skills are to the fore. Trudy wrote the album's title song "I'm Still Here", it's a slow big ballard type song, lamenting that whilst Trudy has been around the world and done so much, she is still here, unlike some of her fellow performers who have passed away, Trudy name checks some of them. Trudy also wrote "Everybody's Got A Blues Song To Sing" which is a nice mid-paced song with Nelson Mills playing a scorching trumpet solo and with Trudy's strong vocal, this is a winner. I particularly liked the instrumental "Boogie Woogie Gumbo" with it's nod to Zydeco music, which features the late guitar supremeo Clarence Holliman and his wonderful playing which as always, is a delight. Jabo "The Texas Prince of Zydeco" is also featured on accordion. The almost pop sounding Rue Davis song "You're The Only One" is Trudy at her best. "Welcome Home Baby" another of Rue's songs is my favourite and it has class stamped on it, Trudy is so silky smooth on it. The orchestra throughout are in tip top form, with great arrangements and some great soloists. The icing on the cake, is Trudy with her strong soulful delivery, which makes this, a great album. I would not hesitate to recomend this album. ---Dave Thomas, mnblues.com

download (mp3 @192 kbs):

uploaded yandex 4shared mega solidfiles zalivalka cloudmailru mediafire oboom




Before downloading any file you are required to read and accept the
Terms and Conditions.

If you are an artist or agent, and would like your music removed from this site,
please e-mail us on
and we will remove them as soon as possible.

What music genre would you like to find here the most?
Now onsite:
  • 306 guests
Content View Hits : 105867647