Feel the Blues with all that Jazz
English (United Kingdom)Polish (Poland)
Home Blues Rick Hatfield Rick Hatfield & The Jumpin' Bobcats - The Frill Is Gone (2007)

Rick Hatfield & The Jumpin' Bobcats - The Frill Is Gone (2007)

User Rating: / 0

Rick Hatfield & The Jumpin' Bobcats - The Frill Is Gone (2007)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

1. Play Mitzy For Me
2. Goin' To Chicago
3. Good Evenin' Blues
4. Cherry Red And Blue
5. Flip Flop
6. High Flyin' Mama
7. Right Away, Baby
8. Uncommon Trains
9. She Be Nice

Musicians: Rick Hatfield – guitar, harmonica, vocals John Tenney – fiddle Jeff Turner – bass Scott Gordon – drums Julie Smolin – violin Su Buchignani – violin


Rick Hatfield and the Jumpin' Bobcats deliver a wonderful set of swinging jazz inflected blues fired by Hatfield's superb harp and the fiddle attack of John Tenney; with Scott Gordon (drums) and Jeff Turner (bass) anchoring the rhythm section with great panache and an innate sense of swing.

As you can tell by the title of this CD, there is a strong sense of 'tongue in the cheek' mischievousness and fun with this band, which is continued on the opening track, 'Play Mitzy For Me', a frantic boogie with Hatfield's harp pyrotechnics matched by the exquisite swing of the gypsy/jazz inflected fiddle. 'Goin' to Chicago' is an infectious shuffle that features Hatfield's naturally bluesy vocals, beautifully understated guitar and superlative harp, Tenney, the fiddler providing delicious fills before breaking out with a stunning solo which is matched by Turner's bass repertoire.

There are shades of Grapelli permeating the relaxed swing of 'Good Evenin' Blues'; 'Cherry Red & Blue', the tale of a cherished Austin Healey, rides an hypnotic bass riff over which Hatfield's harp shimmers iridescently; whilst 'Uncommon Trains' is a live demonstration of Hatfield's dazzling technique, phrasing and imagery as he plays solo before the band segue in replete with some virtuoso violin.

The West Coast swing of 'Flip Flop', and the 50's styled jump blues of 'Right Away, Baby', with it's hip vocals and pumping bass lines, where harp and violin intertwine seamlessly, are further delights on this highly recommended set. --- Mick Rainsford, cdbaby.com

download:   uploaded anonfiles mega 4shared mixturecloud yandex mediafire ziddu


Last Updated (Wednesday, 19 June 2013 08:20)


Before downloading any file you are required to read and accept the
Terms and Conditions.

If you are an artist or agent, and would like your music removed from this site,
please e-mail us on
and we will remove them as soon as possible.

What music genre would you like to find here the most?
Now onsite:
  • 110 guests
Content View Hits : 87026815