Feel the Blues with all that Jazz
English (United Kingdom)Polish (Poland)
Home Blues Walter Vinson Walter Vinson - Complete Recorded Works In Chronological Order 1928-1941

Walter Vinson - Complete Recorded Works In Chronological Order 1928-1941

User Rating: / 0

Walter Vinson - Complete Recorded Works In Chronological Order 1928-1941

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

01. Mad Dog Blues
02. Your Friends Gonna Use It Too-Part 1
03. Overtime Blues
04. Your Friends Gonna Use It Too-Part 2
05. Mississippi Yodelin' Blues
06. Working Man's Blues
07. Sheiks Special
08. Dear Little Girl
09. Mississippi Low Down					play
10. That's It
11. Can't Anybody Tell Me Blues
12. Black Widow Spider
13. When The Breath Bids The Body Goodbye
14. I Ain't Gonna Have It
15. Losin' Blues
16. The Wrong Man							play
17. How Did It Happen
18. Rats Been On My Cheese
19. Every Dog Must Have His Day
20. You Know What You Promised Me
21. Gulf Coast Bay
22. Rosa Lee Blues
23. Can't Get A Word In Edgeways
24. She's Leaving Me


Walter Vinson (February 2, 1901 – April 22, 1975) was an American Memphis blues guitarist, singer and songwriter. He was a member of the Mississippi Sheiks, worked with Bo Chatmon and his brothers, and co-wrote the blues standard, "Sitting on Top of the World". Walter Vinson is variously erroneously known as Walter Vincson and Walter Vincent, and sometimes recorded as Walter Jacobs, thus using his mother's maiden name.

Vinson was born in Bolton, Mississippi, and grew up performing music in his locality. He rarely performed in his whole life on his own, most regularly being part of a duet, trio or group.

He worked alongside Son Spand, Rubin Lacey and Charlie McCoy in the early to mid 1920s, before teaming up in 1928 with Lonnie Chatmon. They formed the Mississippi Sheiks. The Sheiks and related groups under other names, such as Mississippi Mud Steppers, the Mississippi Hot Footers and Blacksnakes, recorded about a hundred sides in the first half of the 1930s, among them original compositions (probably by Vinson) such as "The World is Going Wrong" and "I've Got Blood in My Eyes For You" (1931) - both recorded by Bob Dylan - or the topical "Sales Tax" (1934). Vinson claimed to have composed "Sitting on Top of the World" one morning, after playing at a white dance in Greenwood, Mississippi.

After the Sheiks' split up in 1933, Vinson moved around the United States, recording with a variety of musicians, including Leroy Carter and Mary Butler. He moved from Jackson, Mississippi to New Orleans and ultimately to Chicago, although by the mid 1940s his appearances in blues clubs had dwindled away. A lengthy break from music saw his re-appearance in 1960. He performed at music festivals and recorded further tracks over the next decade, before the onset of hardening of the arteries curtailed his public appearances. Ill health forced his move into a Chicago nursing home in 1972.

Vinson died in Chicago in 1975 at the age of 74.

In 2004, the Mississippi Sheiks were inducted in the Mississippi Musicians Hall of Fame, whilst "Sitting on Top of the World" was inducted into the Grammy Hall of Fame in 2008.

download:   uploaded anonfiles mega 4shared mixturecloud yandex mediafire ziddu


Last Updated (Thursday, 18 July 2013 07:42)


Before downloading any file you are required to read and accept the
Terms and Conditions.

If you are an artist or agent, and would like your music removed from this site,
please e-mail us on
and we will remove them as soon as possible.

What music genre would you like to find here the most?
Now onsite:
  • 101 guests
Content View Hits : 105750022