Feel the Blues with all that Jazz
English (United Kingdom)Polish (Poland)
Home Rock, Metal Rick Wakeman Rick Wakeman ‎– Tribute To The Beatles (1997)

Rick Wakeman ‎– Tribute To The Beatles (1997)

User Rating: / 0

Rick Wakeman ‎– Tribute To The Beatles (1997)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

1- Norwegian Wood - 5:48
2- You've Got To Hide Your Love Away - 7:19
3- The Fool On The Hill - 5:13
4- Eleanor Rigby - 7:58
5- Come Together - 4:12
6- While My Guitar Gently Weeps - 6:01
7- We Can Work It Out - 3:52
8- The Help Trilogy - 4:43
9- Things We Said Today - 3:51
10- Blackbird - 2:15
11- She's Leaving Home 5:12

- Rick Wakeman - keyboards, arranger & producer
- Fraser Thorneycroft-Smith - guitar
- Phil Laughlin - bass
- Stuart Swaney - percussion programming, mixing


Prog-rock legends Yes had covered Beatles songs in the past, but TRIBUTE represents Yes keyboardist Rick Wakeman's full-blown homage to the Fab Four. It contains his instrumental, keyboard-dominated versions of 11 Beatles classics. Instead of slathering these tunes with prog-rock grandeur, though, Wakeman keeps things relatively close to the bone. Rather than resorting to displays of technical flash, the keyboard king focuses on expressivity when interpreting the carefully wrought melodies of such Beatles tunes as "Norwegian Wood" and "She's Leaving Home." ---Jim Allen, AllMusic Review


Released in 1998, "Tribute" finds Rick Wakeman putting together a collection of cover versions of Beatles songs. According to his official website, the album was commissioned by a private company on the back of his version of "Eleanor Rigby" (a version which he himself is not entirely happy with).

The eleven songs selected are among the better known of the Beatles album tracks, although relatively few were singles. The interpretations are usually soft offering pleasant but undemanding variations on familiar melodies. Sometimes, such as with "We can work it out", the rendition is too phonetic, each syllable being represented individually. Things work better when a symphonic aspect is added, like on the slowed down interpretation of "Help". It is probably fair to say that this adaptation was inspired by John Farnham's fine version of that song.

Although entirely understandable, it does seem a bit odd to hear the main theme of "While my guitar gently weeps" played out on keyboards. There is actually guitar on the track, Wakeman having put together a small band for these recordings.

Overall, a good album to have on when entertaining guests and not a bad album to listen to at other times. ---Easy Livin, progarchives.com

download (mp3 @320 kbs):

yandex mediafire uloz.to gett





Before downloading any file you are required to read and accept the
Terms and Conditions.

If you are an artist or agent, and would like your music removed from this site,
please e-mail us on
and we will remove them as soon as possible.

What music genre would you like to find here the most?
Now onsite:
  • 424 guests
Content View Hits : 129696560