Feel the Blues with all that Jazz
English (United Kingdom)Polish (Poland)
Home Classical Scarlatti Alessandro Alessandro Scarlatti – Telemaco (2005)

Alessandro Scarlatti – Telemaco (2005)

User Rating: / 0

Alessandro Scarlatti – Telemaco (2005)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

01. Act I
02. Act II
03. Act III

Calipso: Johanna Stojkovic (soprano)   
Antiope (Erifile): Elisabeth Kulman (soprano)
Telemaco: Corby Welch (tenor)
Adrasto: Mariselle Martinez (mezzo-soprano)
Sicoreo: Gunther Schmid (alto)
Mentore/Nettuno: Kresimir Spicer (tenor)
Tersite: Andreas Winkler (tenor)
Silvina: Netta Or (soprano)
Minerva: Sylvia Hamvasi (soprano)

Balthasar Neumann Chor und Ensemble
Thomas Hengelbrock – conductor

Rokoko Theater, Schwetzingen 29.IV.2005
FM-broadcast Radio 4 (NL) 11.VI.2005


Telemaco belongs to the group of operas composed in Scarlatti's late Roman period. It was premiered at the Teatro Capranica for the Roman Carnivale of 1718. One of his finest operas, it was written at a time when Scarlatti's fame and popularity were waning. Scarlatti himself numbered Telemaco his one hundred and ninth opera.

This opera is on a much grander scale than most of Scarlatti's operas. It features gods and godesses on machines, opulent scenery, incantations, and magic. The opening scene acts as a prologue, and sets up the subsequent action of the drama. For Neptune's entrance, the regular instruments of the orchestra are supplemented by horns, oboes, and bassoon. Minerva descends in a chariot which contains a string band with trumpets. They play along with the orchestra in the pit to make her entrance Their final duet, in which Neptune agrees to leave Ulisse and Telemaco in peace, uses both the on stage orchestra and the orchestra in the pit, sometimes playing in antiphony. At the very end of the opera, when Telemaco must invoke the aid of Minerva against Calipso, she returns, again to sumptuous music. Though not as grand as the opening, the orchestration recalls her initial entrance with the use of horns and oboes doubling the violins. ---Rita Laurence, Rovi

download: uploaded yandex 4shared mediafire solidfiles mega zalivalka filecloudio anonfiles oboom



Before downloading any file you are required to read and accept the
Terms and Conditions.

If you are an artist or agent, and would like your music removed from this site,
please e-mail us on
and we will remove them as soon as possible.

What music genre would you like to find here the most?
Now onsite:
  • 281 guests
Content View Hits : 158054100