Feel the Blues with all that Jazz
English (United Kingdom)Polish (Poland)
Home Blues Mississippi John Hurt Mississippi John Hurt - Avalon Blues (1963)

Mississippi John Hurt - Avalon Blues (1963)

User Rating: / 0

Mississippi John Hurt - Avalon Blues (1963)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

1. Avalon Blues - 2:22 
2. My Creole Belle - 1:53 
3. Liza Jane (God's Unchanging Hand) - 1:58 
4. Joe Turner Blues - 3:33 							play
5. Richland Woman Blues - 3:41 
6. Spike Driver Blues - 2:29 
7. Salty Dog - 1:43 								play
8. Cow Hooking Blues - 6:04 
9. Spanish Fandago - 1:18 
10. Casey Jones - 3:47 
11. Louis Collins - 2:17 
12. Candy Man Blues - 2:57

Mississippi John Hurt - Composer, Guitar, Vocals


This is the first in a multiple-volume series devoted to the Piedmont recordings Hurt made upon his rediscovery in the early '60s. They capture him with his playing and singing still intact, untouched by the world around him, a world that had changed so much since he initially recorded back in the '20s. Many of his best-known tunes are here -- "Candy Man Blues," "Salty Dog," "Spike Driver Blues," "Louis Collins," "Spanish Fandango," and the title track -- and although Hurt was to re-record them for other labels, these versions are as fine as any. There's really no one else in the blues with the gentle wistfulness of John Hurt, and this collection makes a wonderful addition to anyone's blues or folk music collection. --- Cub Koda, allmusic.com


Very few people manage to grab the brass ring more than once, but Mississippi John Hurt did just that, experiencing two career peaks four decades apart. Avalon Blues/1963 is from the Delta bluesman's second apex, when Hurt reemerged from obscurity and briefly rode a wave of new interest in folk and blues. The CD's 12 great tracks include such classics as "Richland Woman Blues," "Salty Dog," and "Casey Jones." Also here are the lively "Candy Man Blues" and the sweet "Avalon Blues." Hurt, a vibrant performer with a warm singing voice, is always enjoyable, and his latter-day recordings have a charm all their own. --Genevieve Williams


What a terrific album. I recently discovered Hurt and am struck with his grace and fluidity. The story of Hurt is fascinating as well. Just think if he had been playing and recording albums prior to the 1960s - what a wealth of beautiful grace we would have had. It is a blessing that Mississippi John has left us with an album like this one. But, really all of his songs are just as terrific as each other and each of his sparce albums are just as terrific as the other. It is such a treasure we have to listen to and be moved by. I can't say enough great things about Mississippi John and all of his work. God Bless! --- Owen P. Epstein "owene" (MCLEAN, VA USA)

download:   uploaded anonfiles 4shared mega yandex mixturecloud mediafire ziddu


Last Updated (Saturday, 01 June 2013 16:30)


Before downloading any file you are required to read and accept the
Terms and Conditions.

If you are an artist or agent, and would like your music removed from this site,
please e-mail us on
and we will remove them as soon as possible.

What music genre would you like to find here the most?
Now onsite:
  • 166 guests
Content View Hits : 105921311