Feel the Blues with all that Jazz
English (United Kingdom)Polish (Poland)
Home Blues Charley Patton Charley Patton - Screamin' and Hollerin' the Blues - The Worlds of Charley Patton CD1 (2001)

Charley Patton - Screamin' and Hollerin' the Blues - The Worlds of Charley Patton CD1 (2001)

User Rating: / 0

Charley Patton - Screamin' and Hollerin' the Blues - The Worlds of Charley Patton CD1 (2001)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

1. Pony Blues (Charley Patton)
2. A Spoonful Blues (Charley Patton)
3. Down The Dirt Road Blues (Charley Patton)
4. Prayer Of Death Part 1 (Charley Patton)
5. Prayer Of Death Part 2 (Charley Patton)
6. Screamin' And Hollerin' The Blues (Charley Patton)
7. Banty Rooster Blues (Charley Patton)
8. Tom Rushen Blues (Charley Patton)
9. It Won't Be Long (Charley Patton)
10. Shake It And Break It (But Don't Let It Fall Mama) (Charley Patton)
11. Pea Vine Blues (Charley Patton)
12. Mississippi Boweavil Blues (Charley Patton)
13. Lord I'm Discouraged (Charley Patton)
14. I'm Goin' Home (Charley Patton)
15. Snatch It And Grab It (Walter 'Buddy Boy' Hawkins)
16. A Rag Blues (Walter 'Buddy Boy' Hawkins)
17. How Come Mama Blues (Walter 'Buddy Boy' Hawkins)
18. Voice Throwin' Blues (Walter 'Buddy Boy' Hawkins)


Screamin' and Hollerin' the Blues: The Worlds of Charley Patton is the musical equivalent of a limited-edition, fine-press book, and it's easily one of the most beautiful collections of recorded music ever assembled. Exquisitely designed, this 78-album-inspired, seven-CD package contains a wealth of information and music, featuring not only the Delta blues pioneer's complete recorded works, but the music of peripheral players (including Son House, Howlin' Wolf, and Henry "Son" Sims), a disc of fascinating audio interviews with Patton associates, and hours of reading material on the enigmatic songster.

It's hard not to romanticize the music contained within this set as you open its retro-looking slipcase, but Patton (1887-1934) doesn't let you down. Under the haze of 78 rpm record hiss, his 50-odd preserved recordings spellbind with great guitar playing and moving lyrics about love, loss, and catastrophes. Who cares if his life lacked the mystique of Robert Johnson, or his low, growling voice wasn't the creepy falsetto of Skip James? Patton's repertoire was unparalleled; his guitar playing--punctuated by striking syncopated, percussive beats--is always in tune and precise; and his slide playing is full subtle whines and flourishes. These remastered tracks sound better than ever, but there's still plenty of hiss (for some tunes, just one abused and poorly pressed record has survived). Copious, scholarly (and, at times, a little arcane) liner notes debate and survey Patton's mysterious life and tunes; the complete lyrics to his songs are included, too--no small feat. But it's the music--utterly raw, striking, and influential blues--that steals the show here.

Revenant Records has outdone itself--this is a poignant dream project that label cofounder/guitar great John Fahey didn't live long enough to see completed--and it's well worth every penny. Only a handful of musical artists deserve this lavish a treatment; as evidenced here, Patton--the first great Delta blues musician on record--is certainly one of them. ---Jason Verlinde, Editorial Review

download:  uploaded ziddu 4shared gett hostuje mediafire


Last Updated (Tuesday, 26 February 2013 12:57)


Before downloading any file you are required to read and accept the
Terms and Conditions.

If you are an artist or agent, and would like your music removed from this site,
please e-mail us on
and we will remove them as soon as possible.

What music genre would you like to find here the most?
Now onsite:
  • 212 guests
Content View Hits : 109212546