Roy Harper – Man And Myth (2013)

Roy Harper – Man And Myth (2013)



01 – The Enemy 02 – Time is Temporary 03 – January Man 04 – The Stranger 05 – Cloud Cuckooland 06 – Heaven Is Here 07 – The Exile Personnel Roy Harper – guitar and Jonathan Wilson - banjo, guitar, mandolin, bass and backing vocals vocals John Fitzgerald - bouzouki,Oud,Bass, Guitar engineering Pete Townsend – electric guitar Tony Franklin - bass guitar Jake Blanton - bass guitar Richard Gowen - drums and percussion Omar Velasco - clavinet and mellotron Jason Borger - keyboard James King - alto Bill Shanley - guitar Neal Morgan – percussion saxophone

The musical legend returns with his first album since 2000. Has he still got it?

Harper was inspired to start writing his first album in 13 years when he found some of his contemporaries were only just discovering him and 'the kids' were asking what he did.

So last year's 70th birthday celebrations at the Royal Festival Hall (where he was joined by fans Jimmy Page, Joanna Newsom and Jonathan Wilson), were a good way to prove he still had 'it'.

Wilson, also a fan of songs as long as a novel, features heavily on more than half of the album's seven labyrinthine tracks - Heaven Is Here lasts quarter of an hour - while The Who's Pete Townsend offers reliably solid lead guitar on Cloud Cuckooland, a searing attack on celebrity and corporate culture.

The album flits from pastoral folk (Time Is Temporary's finger-picked guitar and softly evocative

Roy Harper – Man And Myth (2013)

violins) to folk-rock anthems.

Playing with ideas of self-perception and reality, the innate faults of society, ageing, love and premature loss, it's a wonder the songs don't buckle under his intellectual reflections on life. A weighty record in many ways. ---Stephen Moore, london24.com

download: <u>4shared</u> <u>yandex</u> <u>mediafire</u>

back