Elton John – Empty Sky (1969)

Ocena użytkowników: / 0

Elton John – Empty Sky (1969)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

01. Empty Sky – 8:26
02. Val-Hala – 4:06
03. Western Ford Gateway – 3:12
04. Hymn 2000 – 4:25
05. Lady What's Tomorrow – 3:06
06. Sails - 3:38
07. The Scaffold – 3:12
08. Skyline Pigeon – 3:32
09. Gulliver/Hay Chewed/Reprise – 6:58

- Elton John - piano, organ, electric piano, harpsichord, vocals
- Caleb Quaye - electric and acoustic guitars, conga drums
- Tony Murray - bass
- Roger Pope - drums, percussion
- Don Fay - tenor saxophone, flute
- Graham Vickery - harmonica
- Nigel Olsson - drums (05)
- Steve Brown – producer

All songs written by Elton John and Bernie Taupin.


Although he had made a number of re-recordings of popular songs for a budget record label in the late '60s, Empty Sky was the first true solo album Elton John recorded after leaving Bluesology; it also marked the beginning of his long and fruitful collaboration with lyricist Bernie Taupin. Empty Sky is quite indicative of the post-Sgt. Pepper's era. With its ambitious arrangements and lyrics, it's clear that John and Taupin intended the album to be a major statement. Though it shows some signs of John's R&B roots, most of the album alternates between vaguely psychedelic rock and Taupin and John's burgeoning pop songcraft, capped off by a bizarre reprise of brief moments of all of the songs on the record. There aren't any forgotten gems on Empty Sky, but it does suggest John's potential. ---Stephen Thomas Erlewine, AllMusic Review

download (mp3 @320 kbs):

yandex 4shared mega mediafire cloudmailru uplea ge.tt



Zmieniony (Wtorek, 10 Styczeń 2017 20:36)