Franck - Symphony in D minor; Faure - Pelleas et Melisande (1990)



Franck - Symphony in D Minor 01. I. Lento; Allegro non troppo 02. II. Allegretto 03. III.

Allegro non troppo Faure - Pelleas et Melisande 04. I.Prelude 05. II. La Fileuse 06. III. Sicilienne 07. IV. Molto adagio

New Philharmonia Orchestra Andrew Davis – conductor (CBS Masterworks – Great Performances 79)

The Symphony in D minor is the most famous orchestral work and the only symphony written by the 19th-century Belgian composer César Franck. After two years of work, the symphony was completed 22 August 1888. It was premiered at the Paris Conservatory on 17 February 1889 under the direction of Jules Garcin. Franck dedicated it to his pupil Henri Duparc.

In a departure from typical late-romantic symphonic structure, the Symphony in D minor is in three movements, each of which makes reference to the initial four-bar theme introduced at the beginning of the piece. The elision of the standard Scherzo movement is in part compensated for with a scherzo-like treatment in the second movement.

Pelléas et Mélisande, Op. 80 is a suite derived from incidental music by Gabriel Fauré for Maurice Maeterlinck's play of the same name. He was the first of four leading composers to write music inspired by Maeterlinck's drama. Debussy, Schoenberg and Sibelius followed in the first decade of the 20th century.

Franck - Symphony in D minor; Faure - Pelleas et Melisande (1990)

Wpisany przez bluesever Piątek, 24 Luty 2012 13:52 - Zmieniony Poniedziałek, 02 Grudzień 2013 16:23

Fauré's music was written for the London production of Maeterlinck's play in 1898. To meet the tight deadline of the production, Fauré reused some earlier music from incomplete works, and enlisted the help of his pupil Charles Koechlin, who orchestrated the music. Fauré later constructed a four-movement suite from the original theatre music, orchestrating the concert version himself.

download: uploaded anonfiles yandex 4shared solidfiles mediafire mega filecloudio

<u>back</u>