John Scofield ‎– Works For Me (2000)

Ocena użytkowników: / 1

John Scofield ‎– Works For Me (2000)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

1 	I'll Catch You 	7:58
2 	Not You Again 	7:09
3 	Big J 	7:30
4 	Loose Canon 	9:12
5 	Love You Long Time 	6:21
6 	Hive 	4:51
7 	Heel To Toe 	5:21
8 	Do I Crazy? 	6:07
9 	Mrs. Scofield's Waltz 	6:32
10 	Six And Eight 	8:18
11 	Freepie 	2:15

Bass – Christian McBride
Drums – Billy Higgins
Guitar – John Scofield
Piano – Brad Mehldau
Saxophone [Alto] – Kenny Garrett


Guitarist John Scofield takes the traditional jazz route on Works for Me, an excellent collection of 11 compositions that feature the all-star lineup of Christian McBride on acoustic bass, Kenny Garrett on alto saxophone, Brad Mehldau on acoustic piano, and the dynamic Billy Higgins on drums. This CD is unlike the alternative rock and funk jazz fusion on his previous efforts A Go Go and Bump. On this offering, John Scofield gives a great reassessment of straight-ahead post-bop jazz that is distinguished and stimulating. On "Big J," Scofield and saxophonist Kenny Garrett make a great team as they reach out with a call and response improvisation that engrosses the listener throughout its development. On "Loose Cannon," Garret means business as he launches into some great straight-ahead hard blowing. The ensemble changes the mood on "Love You a Long Time" with a soft approach to this resonant, melodic ballad. Drummer Billy Higgins is impossible to miss on "Freepie" and Christian McBride performs his stellar top to bottom command of acoustic bass techniques throughout this great program. Christian McBride plays a great solo on "Heel to Toe." From the hard swinging "Do I Crazy?" to the tranquil "Mrs. Scofield's Waltz," the versatility of John Scofield shows why he is one of the "Big 3" of current jazz guitarists.---Paula Edelstein, AllMusic Review

download (mp3 @320 kbs):

yandex mediafire ulozto gett bayfiles