Baden Powell - Os Afro-Sambas (1966)

Wpisany przez bluesever Poniedziałek, 21 Maj 2012 17:16 - Zmieniony Środa, 23 Lipiec 2014 21:29

Baden Powell - Os Afro-Sambas (1966)



01. Canto de Ossanha 02. Canto de Xangô 03. Bocoché play 04. Canto de Iemanjá 05. Tempo de Amor 06. Canto de Pedra Preta 07. Tristeza e Solidão 08. Lamento de Exú Personnel: Baden Powell (guitar); Otto Goncalves Filho (vocals, guitar); Eliana Sabino, Doctor Cesar Augusto Parga Rodrigues, Dulce Nunes, Betty Faria, Quarteto em Cy, Vinícius de Moraes (vocals); Nicolino Copia (flute); Aurino Ferreira (alto saxophone); Pedro Luiz de Assis (tenor saxophone); Stockler Pimentel, Joao Batista (drums); Alexandre Silva Martins (bongos); Gilson de Freitas (pandeiro).

Vinicius de Moraes was the principal lyricist of Bossa Nova, ('Girl from Ipanema', 'Chega de Saudade' and 'Insensatez' are amongst the famous international hit songs he wrote with Tom Jobim), and Os Afro-Sambas is his response to the commercialization of the movement in the mid '60s. Co-written with the brilliant Brazilian guitarist Baden Powell and eventually released in 1966, these eight songs combine Powell's melodic gifts with Bahian Folk traditions and Gregorian chant. With the joyous vocalizations of Quarteto Em Cy, the atmosphere is at once haunting and spontaneous. The music hasn't even begun to date. Recorded at a time when musicians around the world were looking to break down barriers - between Classical and Pop, East and West - but the Afro-Sambas appear to recognize no such barriers in the first place. ---cduniverse.com

download: uploaded yandex 4shared mediafire solidfiles mega zalivalka filecloudio anonfiles oboom

back