Memphis Slim ‎– Memphis Slim At The Gate Of Horn (1959)

Ocena użytkowników: / 0

Memphis Slim ‎– Memphis Slim At The Gate Of Horn (1959)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

1 	The Come Back 	2:14
2 	Steppin' Out 	1:56
3 	Blue And Lonesome 	3:03
4 	Rockin' The Blues 	2:03
5 	Slim's Blues 	3:02
6 	Gotta Find My Baby 	2:14
7 	Messin' Around 	3:01
8 	Wish Me Well 	2:37
9 	My Gal Keeps Me Crying 	2:33
10 	Lend Me Your Love 	3:07
11 	Sassy Mae 	2:40
12 	Mother Earth 	3:20

Alex Atkins - Sax (Alto)
John Calvin - Sax (Tenor)
Sam Chatmon - Bass
Ernest Cotton - Sax (Tenor)
Memphis Slim - Piano, Vocals
Matt "Guitar" Murphy - Guitar
Billy Stepney - Drums 


Only this disc's short length (34 minutes) qualifies as something worthy of complaint; otherwise, this is seminal blues piano, performed by a great player and singer, Memphis Slim. This 1959 session had everything: super piano solos, a strong lineup of horn players, clever, well-written and sung lyrics, and a seamless pace that kept things moving briskly from beginning to end. Other than Slim, instrumental honors go to guitarist Matt Murphy, a marvelous accompanist who was able to blend sophistication, technique, and earthiness into one dynamic package. Even at its bargain-basement length, At the Gate of Horn belongs in any blues fan's library. ---Ron Wynn, AllMusic Review


In 1959, Memphis Slim released one of the most important albums of his career “At the Gate of Horn.” “At the Gate of Horn,” features Memphis Slim’s smooth, almost Charles Brown styled vocals and his rolling piano. “At the Gate of Horn,” showcases Memphis Slim classics such as “Mother Earth” and “Steppin’ Out.” Also of note on “At the Gate of Horn” is the always exciting guitar work of Matt “Guitar” Murphy. The licks of Matt Murphy are supportive of the songs and never get in the way of Memphis Slim’s vocals and piano work.

download (mp3 @320 kbs):

yandex mediafire gett