The British Invasion - The History Of British Rock Vol. 5 (1988)

User Rating: / 0

The British Invasion - The History Of British Rock Vol. 5 (1988)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

1. Ain't She Sweet - The Beatles
2. Telstar - The Tornados
3. Shout - Lulu
4. Some Other Guy - The Big Three
5. Yeh Yeh - Georgie Fame & the Blue Flames
6. My Bonnie - The Beatles
7. Everything's Alright - The Mojos
8. Downtown - Petula Clark
9. Game of Love - Wayne Fontana
10. Baby Please Don't Go - Them
11. Roadrunner - The Pretty Things
12. Diane - The Bachelors
13. It's Not Unusual - Tom Jones
14. Gloria - Them
15. Go Now - The Moody Blues, The Moody Blues
16. I Think of You - The Merseybeats
17. I Only Want to Be With You - Dusty Springfield
18. You've Got Your Troubles - The Fortunes
19. Sunshine Superman - Donovan
20. Before and After - Chad & Jeremy 


British Invasion: History of British Rock pretty much follows a loose chronological order, which makes the presence of two tracks the Beatles recorded with Tony Sheridan in the early '60s ("Ain't She Sweet," "My Bonnie") on this collection of mid-'60s hits a little disconcerting. They break the mood, but they don't really devalue the disc, since there are so many great singles here. Granted, there aren't as many big hits as its immediate predecessor, but the ones that are here -- Petula Clark's "Downtown," Tom Jones' "It's Not Unusual," Wayne Fontana's "Game of Love," Them's "Baby Please Don't Go" and "Gloria," the Moody Blues' "Go Now," Dusty Springfield's "I Only Want to Be With You," Donovan's "Sunshine Superman" -- are terrific. Furthermore, the obscurities and smaller hits, from Georgie Fame's "Yeh, Yeh" and the Tornadoes' "Telstar" to the Pretty Things' "Road Runner" and the Mojos' "Everything's Alright," are very good, making this another fine installment in a generally excellent series. ---Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

download (mp3 @320 kbs):

yandex mediafire cloudmailru



Last Updated (Sunday, 03 December 2017 16:01)