Warsaw Village Band - Nord (2012)

User Rating: / 0

Warsaw Village Band - Nord (2012)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

01 – Hey You, Yokel’s Son
02 – Musicians are a-Playin
03 – My Fate
04 – Kujawiak the Fiend
05 – Whoa, Bullocks, Whoa
06 – You Sure Knew What’s What, Lass
07 – Hemp Lullaby
08 – Ingunn
09 – Emigrant Polka
10 – War’s Coming
11 – Jewesse Polka
12 – Farmer’s Wives
13 – Stepp This and That

Maja Kleszcz - cello and vocals
Magdalena Sobczak - cimbalom and vocals
Sylwia Świątkowska - violin, suka, vocals
Wojciech Krzak - violin, hurdy gurdy, jaw harp
Piotr Gliński - bęben (drum)
Maciej Szajkowski - frame drum


There may have been a change of personnel, but Warsaw Village Band are still one of the most adventurous, exciting groups in Europe. Matching the thrilling, harsh-edged vocals of their two female singers Magdalena Sobczak-Kotnarowska and Sylwia Swiatkowska against slinky bass riffs, percussion and wild violin work (with a dash of dulcimer, trumpet or traditional Płock fiddle added in), they create an edgy reworking of folk styles that can switch between furious dance pieces and passages of quirky, quietly thrilling a cappella vocals. They have been travelling in Scandanavia and North America, and the best songs are collaborations. The opening track, which apparently translates as Hey You, Yokel's Son, is a wailing, stomping workout in which they are joined by the bagpipes and hurdy-gurdy of the Swedish band Hedningarna, while on War's Coming they are helped by singer Sandy Scofield, for what sounds like a wild exercise in folk-trance music, with dub effects added in. Play it loud. --- Robin Denselow, guardian.co.uk

download (mp3 @320 kbs):

yandex 4shared mega mediafire uloz.to cloudmailru gett



Last Updated (Wednesday, 06 September 2017 11:37)