Peter, Paul and Mary - Late Again (1968)

User Rating: / 0

Peter, Paul and Mary - Late Again (1968)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

01. Apologize (Paul Stookey) - 2:46
02. Moments Of Soft Persuasion (Peter Yarrow) - 2:31
03. Yesterday's Tomorrow (Mary Travers/Robert Dorough/Laura Popper) - 3:30
04. Too Much Of Nothing (Bob Dylan) - 2:28
05. There's Anger In The Land (Hedy West/Don West) - 3:42
06. Love City (Postcards To Duluth) (Paul Stookey) - 3:39
07. She Dreams (Mary Travers/Milt Okun/Paul Stookey/Peter Yarrow) - 2:50
08. Hymn (Karen Gold/James Mason/Paul Stookey) - 2:16
09. Tramp On The Street (Grady Cole/Hazel Cole) - 3:48
10. I Shall Be Released (Bob Dylan) - 2:36
11. Reason To Believe (Tim Hardin) - 2:08
12. Rich Man Poor Man (Peter Yarrow/Peter Zimmel) - 3:33

- Mary Travers - female vocals
- Noel Paul Stookey - vocals
- Peter Yarrow - guitar, vocals


With Late Again, Peter, Paul & Mary completed the transition from folk to folk-rock that had begun a couple of years before its release. Granted, it was a transition as slow and halting as that of an ox carrying a piano on its back, but it did actually take place. You can't call an album that numbers Elvin Bishop, Herbie Hancock, Paul Griffin, Charlie McCoy, Bernard Purdie, John Simon, and Paul Winter among its many accompanying musicians a folk album, after all. As for the music, it was adequate but rather inconsequential, the harmonies polished and pleasing as always. The trio were at this point composing the majority of their own material, with serious-minded, mildly tuneful, subdued, and fairly unmemorable originals, the best of them being "Rich Man Poor Man." They did add some diversity in flavor and arrangement with the churchy "Tramp on the Street," the haunting "Hymn," and occasional orchestration. The most notable track, by far, was their cover of Bob Dylan's "Too Much of Nothing." Previously released as a single in late 1967, it was the very first version of a Dylan Basement Tapes-era composition to reach the charts. --- Richie Unterberger, Rovi

download (mp3 @128 kbs):

yandex 4shared mega mediafire cloudmailru


Last Updated (Saturday, 03 June 2017 15:26)