Andy Kirk And His Twelve Clouds Of Joy - The Chronological Classics 1937-1938 (1991)

User Rating: / 0

Andy Kirk And His Twelve Clouds Of Joy - The Chronological Classics 1937-1938 (1991)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

01. Downstream (2:57)
02. In The Groove (3:07)
03. Worried Over You (3:11)
04. Foolin' Myself (3:02)
05. I'm Glad For Your Sake (But I'm Sorry For Mine) (2:59)
06. I'll Get Along Somehow (2:51)
07. A Mellow Bit Of Rhythm (3:23)
08. In My Wildest Dreams (2:54)
09. Better Luck Next Time (2:50)
10. With Love In My Heart (2:44)
11. What's Mine Is Yours (3:17)
12. Why Can't We Do It Again? (3:11)
13. The Key To My Heart (3:08)
14. I Went To A Gypsy (2:52)
15. Lover, Come Back To Me! (3:16)
16. Poor Butterfly (2:53)
17. The Big Dipper (2:58)
18. Bear Down (3:03)
19. I Surrender Dear (3:08)
20. Twinklin' (3:11)
21. It Must Be True (You Are Mine - All Mine) (3:09)
22. I'll Get By (3:07)
23. Little Joe From Chicago (2:52)

Booker Collins 	Sax (Baritone), String Bass
Ted Donnelly 	Trombone
John Harrington 	Baritone, Clarinet, Sax (Alto), Sax (Baritone)
Paul King 	Trumpet
Andy Kirk 	Director, Primary Artist, Sax (Baritone), Sax (Bass)
Harry Lawson 	Trumpet
Earl Miller 	Sax (Alto)
Ted Robinson 	Guitar
Pha Terrell 	Vocals
Ben Thigpen 	Drums, Vocals
Earl Thomson 	Arranger, Trumpet
Clarence Trice 	Trumpet
Henry Wells 	Trombone, Vocals
Claude "Fiddler" Williams 	Violin
John Williams 	Baritone, Sax (Alto), Sax (Baritone)
Mary Lou Williams 	Arranger, Piano
Dick Wilson 	Sax (Tenor) 


The third Andy Kirk CD put out by the Classics label (reissuing all of Kirk's swing-era recordings) is primarily for completists, for the then-popular but rather dated singer Pha Terrell is on the majority of the songs. There are some good moments from pianist Mary Lou Williams and tenor saxophonist Dick Wilson (particularly on the instrumentals), with the most memorable numbers being "A Mellow Bit of Rhythm," "Twinklin'," and "The Big Dipper," but Terrell is often difficult to sit through. ---Scott Yanow, AllMusic Review

download (mp3 @320 kbs):

yandex mediafire ulozto gett bayfiles